Mighty Mouse detecting left click as right click

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Nermal, Feb 4, 2006.

  1. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    I've had my Mighty Mouse for three days now, and on several occasions it has detected a left-click as a right-click. It doesn't happen every time - it's comparatively rare, but it's still happened several times in a few days. Has this happened to anyone else or is my mouse faulty?
     
  2. applemax macrumors 65816

    applemax

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    #2
    Check the preferences and make sure it's in 'right-handed' mode instead of 'left-handed' mode. This is the most obvious reason.
     
  3. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    If that was the case, then it'd happen every single time rather than intermittently.
     
  4. nuclearwinter macrumors regular

    nuclearwinter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Milky Way
    #4
    Its because the Mighty Mouse is really just a mighty disappointment. You have to lift your finger off the right button whilst clicking the left button to ensure a left click everytime. Its because of the touch sensors beneath the shell. To be honest, I have one and I hate the thing. The only redeeming feature that keeps me using it is the absolutely fantastic scroll ball. I can't seem to use those tilt-wheel mice as effectively. Otherwise, the Mighty Mouse is a usability nightmare.
     
  5. hhlee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    #5
    Are you trying to click between the two rapidly? I haven't gotten the hang of it too well when switching between left and right click fast. I still like the mouse - for some reason, I always lift my left click finger when I right click....
     
  6. Marlon_JBT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #6
    I sell Macs at my computer store, and I've never had a problem with the Mighty Mouse. I'd say yours is faulty.
     
  7. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Don't they actually bother to test this sort of thing before selling? :eek:

    I've switched back to my old mouse now.

    Nope.
     
  8. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    Update: They're sending me a new mouse, it should arrive tomorrow. Hopefully it'll work better :)
     
  9. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #9
    I tried one in the Apple store and it would never right-click, no matter what I did.

    Glad you're getting a replacement.
     
  10. plinkoman macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    it set by default to only be one button
     
  11. hhlee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    #11
    yeah. i wondered why they'd do that when the big hullabaloo was that it would do both...
     
  12. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #12
    Sounds like a joke to me or someone having his way secretly despite opposition. Then again, Mac OS X ships with the firewall off.
     
  13. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    It doesn't.
     

Share This Page