Migrating to Intel

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mdavey, Feb 14, 2006.

  1. mdavey macrumors 6502a

    mdavey

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    Has anyone come across any good references or documents describing how to move from a PPC Mac to an Intel Mac while preserving as much data and configuration as possible?
     
  2. PrOeliuM macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #2
  3. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

    CANEHDN

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
    #3
    Or if you have .Mac. That transfers most of your current settings over.
     
  4. mdavey thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mdavey

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    #4
    That works between Intel and PPC? Kewl! So all I need is a 6-pin Firewire cable. Thanks for your reply :D
     
  5. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #5
    I might have an extra 6-6 FW cable lying around. Do you have one, or were you thinking of buying one?
     
  6. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #6
    That brings up a question for me, are the Intel Macs capable of connecting to PPC Macs via Target Disk Mode which is a feature in the firmware

    Im guessing it would be on both systems
     
  7. mdavey thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mdavey

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    #7
    That is very kind of you - I think it must be about the only computer cable I don't have ;). I have a local independent computer store near me with a fantastic stock (and customer service) and good low prices, I'll pick one up from there. Thanks for the offer all the same, I appreciate it!
     
  8. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #8
    Hey, no worries, just thought I'd offer. :)
     

Share This Page