Migration assistant questions-iMac to iMac

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by clcnyc, Nov 10, 2005.

  1. clcnyc
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    clcnyc

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    I just bought a spankin brand new iMac G5 20", to replace my iMac G4, and before I hook it up, I want to make sure all my info from my old computer will transfer over safely, especially iTunes accounts, user accts, and Safari and keychain passwords. Does it do all that? Any advise would be appreciated. :confused:
     
  2. Rewes
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
  3. TexasMac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    I just bought a new iMac also. Everything transferred over very well for the most part. For some reason some of my podcasts did not move over. I would suggest keeping the old iMac around for a few days to make sure everything moved over correctly.
     
  4. superfunkomatic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    calgary, ab canada
    #4
    yes indeed it does. you just need a firewire cable.
     
  5. clcnyc
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    clcnyc

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Good to know! One more thing....

    So, when I do this tonight, do I turn on the new one first? Won't it ask me for all my info? Or does the migration thing come on first thing? I don't want to create another user for no reason. I'm being a spaz...
     
  6. Macky-Mac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #6
    when you turn on the new one for the first time it should ask you if you want to use the migration assistent thing to transfer info.......so be ready with your old computer and firewire cable.......then it'll guide you through the whole process of hooking up the cable, etc
     
  7. clcnyc
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    clcnyc

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Thanks!

    Wish me luck!
     
  8. TexasMac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    If you want to connect the two computers via firewire later on you can connect the firewire cable and then boot up the old computer while holding town the T key. That will boot it into target disk mode. The old computer will mount on your new one's desktop like an external hard drive.
     

Share This Page