migration assistant with intel iMacs?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kugino, Feb 6, 2006.

  1. kugino macrumors 65816

    kugino

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    #1
    so those of you with new iMacs...how did you transfer your info from your old mac? normally i'd use the migration assistant, at least for my library and apps, but i'm wondering if it's best to slowly (i.e., manually) migrate my stuff over by copying individual library files and apps, just to make sure that only the apps that work (UB and rosetta) get copied...

    did any of you use the migration assistant and if so, any problems?
     
  2. Jesus macrumors 6502

    #2
    When I got my iMac intel, and used migration assistant, it ruined my computer, therre were lots of bugs :mad: . I had to reinstall tiger, then I copied all my stuff manually, and it works great. Trust me, do it manually.
     
  3. arcsbite Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #3
    I used it and everything was fine.
    although I only copied over files and settings, not the apps folder as all the new universal apps were in iLife 06 already

    my info went from my iMac G5 into my iBook for a week storage as my old iMac was sold, then from my iBook to my intel iMac and all is still running fine,
     
  4. kugino thread starter macrumors 65816

    kugino

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    #4
    i cloned my previous computer onto an external FW drive...it's bootable...will migration assistant work with an external drive? or does it have to be target disk mode?

    i may do the manual thing since i'm so paranoid...anyone else with experience on this?
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    I've had problems using it in the past, so this time I just copied all my apps & documents onto my 60gb ipod and used that as a hardrive to just drag the stuff I needed from my other macs..


    If you use Entourage..

    Microsoft Office 2004 once installed and ran once to install fonts etc.., you can go into my documents delete the microsoft docs folder..
    Then copy your existing folder over from your other mac and when you open Entourage all your emails and accounts are set up, hey presto...
     
  6. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #6
    I used Migration assistant right at the startup of the new Mac, when it asked for it.

    Worked absolutely perfectly. If you choose to do the Applications folder, it will not copy over the old iLife and whatnot, since you have a newer version on the new machine. It is quite a smart process. Machine works great.
     
  7. redeye be macrumors 65816

    redeye be

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    BXL
    #7
    It will work from any disk containing OSX.
     
  8. kugino thread starter macrumors 65816

    kugino

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    #8
    thanks!
     
  9. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    The migration assistant screwed up my machine when transfering to my new iMac Core Duo. Like another poster, I had to wipe the drive clean and reinstall Tiger and move things manually. That worked flawlessly.
     
  10. harveytorriti macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #10
    I used migration assistant this afternoon and moved all my files except the applications.

    Worked beautifully.
     

Share This Page