Migration

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Machead III, Oct 26, 2006.

  1. Machead III macrumors 6502

    Machead III

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Location:
    UK, France
    #1
    Hey peeps,

    I'm uprading from my current MacBook to a new C2D MBP soon, and I was wondering if there was any free software out there you could recommend for migrating all my files and settings etc. over nice and simply?

    Would be nice to be able to do it over FireWire or USB 2.
     
  2. Zadillo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    #2
    Actually, Apple makes it pretty easy to do this automatically. When you first turn on your new MBP, when you go through setup it will ask if you want to migrate from an older Mac. If you say yes, it will have you connect to it via a firewire cable, and it will automatically transfer all your files, apps, accounts, etc. and your new Mac will basically be just like your old Mac.
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Why are you asking this in the Windows On Mac forum? Are you also asking about migrating Boot Camp or Parallels?

    B
     
  4. Machead III thread starter macrumors 6502

    Machead III

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Location:
    UK, France
    #4
    Oops, forget to mention that yes I am referring to migrating my Bootcamp partition. As far as I know there isn't a built in Windows migration assistant like their is on OS X, no?
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
  6. lock&load macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    #6
    Will windows migrate from MBP to iMac 24"

    I have a MBP 15" and want to migrate over to iMac 24".
    Will windows migrate aswell?:confused:
     
  7. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #7
    Not as an OS but you could use WinClone to clone to an external & then transfer back to your iMac
     

Share This Page