Mild Depression?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Patmian212, Nov 12, 2006.

1. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

Apr 11, 2004
    Hey guys,
    I have been under a lot of stress recently caused by many reasons. My girlfriend whom I truely love cheated on me, I broke up with her and she just wont leave me alone, she is using the whole guilt trip on me. I am also in my last year of high shcool and I am facing pressure to perform and get into a good college, a lot of personal problems at home. Now I am not having any thoughts of harming myself. I just feel sad all the time(for the past month or so), I feel self pitty(which I consider to be pathetic) and I have become really unproductive. I cant get my mind off things. I am not having any serious thoughts of harming myself or anything like that. I just wanna be upbeat again, I wanna feel normal again. I think I am becoming a different person. I dont know what to do. I am only 17 but I consider myself mature and responsible but I dont feel like it is an issue to talk about with my parents. It would be really uncomfortable, we arent really close and I feel they wouldnt understand.
    Counselling is out of the question because I dont want my parents knowing. I was considering medication but I really know nothing about depression. I just dont know what to do.
    Anyone that can help me out? Get my thoughts straight?
    Sorry for ranting. I almost feel like Im whinning.

EDIT: I have been talking to my best friendly a lot recently about my feelings but it isnt really helping. I do however like the attention(I feel guilty because I am not an attention whore and all the attention she is giving me about how I feel might just be fueling my depression). I truely feel pathetic.
  2. Grakkle macrumors 6502a

Oct 6, 2006
    Try getting into an activity you really like doing...even if it seems worthless. Meet some new people. Volunteer at something.