Mini DV Cams, this is what I need.

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by markjones05, May 26, 2003.

1. markjones05 macrumors 6502a

markjones05

I don't know if this bothers anyone else or if it's just me, but it seems as though I can't find a mini dv cam that suits my needs. I am a film student so I dont really need or can afford a professional 3 ccd camera. But I dont want or need to pay the extra money for all the crap that comes along with a consumer mini dv cam. Like the digital camera stills with 2 megapixles. Why dont they take that crap off and up the ccds? I want a bare bones 2 ccd minimum (preferably 3) manual control camera with a good lense. Is there any camera that exists like this? I really think there shouldn't be such a huge gap from consumer to pro cams. They need a cam to bridge the gap in the amatuer category. Aspiring film makers unite and let me know what you think. If anyone knows of a camera that fits my needs or something similar please let me know.

2. Schiffi macrumors 6502a

Schiffi

I have sorta the oposite problem. I'm a still artist who dabbles with video. Why get a camcorder that has 2mp stills while I have a perfectly good 4mp at home. Out of what I know, most of it's limited anyway, the best camcorder for professionals is made by Cannon. Of course their camcorders run into 3ccd and are followed by an equal price (usually $2000-$4000). However, I found that Sony makes pretty decent consumer camcorders. However, they lack primarily in manual settings and usually support 1 or less ccd. Personally I have a Sony D8 from early 1999 which has served me well.
    I found some links which may be of use to you.

http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S-abztv5KTkS0/ProdGroup.asp?g=53700

http://news.sel.sony.com/digitalimages/album?album_id=134245

3. nuckinfutz macrumors 603

nuckinfutz

4. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

Re: Mini DV Cams, this is what I need.