Mini DV Digital connection problem

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by sparkcc, Mar 20, 2006.

  1. sparkcc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    #1
    Can anyone help. I have a Sony TRV22E mini DV handycam, but cannot get it to connect to imovie. (imovie HD)

    On a mac G5 running 10.4.3 tiger. I have had the same Sony connected to a G3 running 10.2 panther, but cannot now connect to either!!

    Can't remember downloading any drivers and can't find any on the Sony site.
    Any help will be appreciated.

    Cheers for all repies, have no luck so far! Tried the update to 10.4.5 but it didnt update imovie to 6.0.1 so still to try that (MacAficionado) Tried the permissions (liketom) (RJPhoto) - yes its definately firewire.
    Will try all the other sugestions this weekend. thanks again.
    RJPhoto- tried a JVC model plugged it in and it connected straight away to imovie??
    So it at least eliminates the cable and port on the mac!
     
  2. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #2
    If you can't connect to either (and you know one worked in the past), then I'd suggest checking the FW cable - and then, checking the FW port on the camera
     
  3. MacAficionado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    An awesome place
  4. sparkcc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    #4
    Applespider
    Have bought a new firewire cable, still no luck. Have tried all configurations of turning on and off and restarting.


    Do you mean system software to update?

    Cheers for all replies
     
  5. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

    evil_santa

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    have you check all the menus in the sony? you could have turned something off.
     
  6. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #6
    Check that the camcorder is set to the same time as your Macs. I've been told that having them different can cause problems for some reason.

    Is it seeing the camera at all?
     
  7. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #7
    i remember a issue i had a while back with my sony cam , to fix it i had to reboot the mac with the firewire device unconnected and then repair permissions and then reconnect the cam via firewire
    if your still running 10.4.3 i think you need to upgrade to the latest software update.
     
  8. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    Chceck to see also if the camera works on other computers.
     
  9. MacAficionado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    An awesome place
    #9
    Yes, having 10.4.3 makes me wonder if you have the latest updates for iMovie. I had the same issue with iMovie 6 and they were resolved with iMovie 6.0.1 or maybe it was the System software update. That is the first thing you should do.

    Hope it works.
     
  10. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #10
    Also see if you can find another camera to test with.

    I'm with Spider... it may be the camera FW port.

    I have the same model but run it with 10.3.9 and iMovie 5.
     
  11. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #11
    Don't ake this personally but,

    You did say FIREWIRE...?

    make sure you are not using the USB cable or jack.
     
  12. sparkcc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    #12
    Still no luck!! Have updated imovie to 6.0.1
    Tried the time and date matching.

    Has anyone with a mac running 10.4.5 got this cam to work??

    Have read a lot of reports with firewire on cam not working?

    Any ideas on how to check the firewire port on the cam??
     
  13. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #13
    Check all of the camera's menus. To make sure you don't have firewire output disabled.

    Also try the camera with a different Mac or try a different camera with your Mac to determine if you Mac or your Camera is at fault.

    Lastly, to followup on a previous post make sure you are actually using Firewire not USB:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. MacAficionado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    An awesome place
    #14
    So it is the camera. If you've made sure the FW port is not disabled on the camera, then I really hope the camera is still under warranty. I don't know how much that kind of repair would cost.:confused:
     
  15. sparkcc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    #15
    Thanks for everyones help. Its looking like the firewire port on the cam. I have read several reports of this on this model??? Sony have not been back in contact despite emails.
     
  16. globaltrotter18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #16
    Connecting my Sony DCR-TRV27 to Macbook thru firewire

    I have connected my camcorder to my Macbook. I am running Leopard and iLife 08. When I switched my camera to playback mode to connect it to the computer nothing happens. Computer doesn't recognize camera is connected. I used to import from the same camera to an OLD Powerbook G4 and it worked. Can someone help me? Why won't the computer recognize the camera?
     
  17. sk8ordie macrumors regular

    sk8ordie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #17
    Is the camera on before you plug in the firewire? Try having the camera turned on, then plug in the firewire, then open iMovie.


    Edit, wow this is an old thread! :)
     
  18. globaltrotter18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #18
    thanks

    you were right, camera had to be on b4 plugging in. thanks a million!
     
  19. crtrbr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #19
    more things to try

    I've been having similar issues with my minidv camcorder(sony DCR-HC28). One day it was working fine without any problems (no matter if I turned it on before or after plugging in firewire, or turned it on before or after starting up imovie). The next day imovie didn't recognize it. I tried software update, still no luck. I repaired permissions, still no luck. Restarted the computer, etc.

    Then I found some ideas from Apple:

    iMovie '08: Cannot see or control camera
    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1059

    What to do if your computer won't recognize a FireWire or USB device
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=88338

    I opened System Profiler, clicked on Firewire (w/ the device plugged in and on) and it didn't recognize it. Then I followed some of apple's instructions. Turned off computer, unplugged it from wall for five minutes, disconnected all usb/firewire things (printer, etc) except for the keyboard. Then rebooted. Plugged in camcorder to firewire. Turned on camcorder. Opened System Profiler, clicked on firewire and sure enough, it recognized the camera. Opened imovie and I was back in business. (We'll see how long this lasts...)

    So, if someone else is pulling their hair out, try some of the above.
     
  20. Smudger78 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #20
    Firewire connection - Panasonic GS300

    I'm having much the same issue with my mini dv Panasonic GS300. Bought a brand-new iMac OS X and when the GS300 is plugged in, the System Profiler gives a 'Warning: Unable to list FireWire devices' message which I find a bit of an odd phrase ('unable to..' rather than 'cannot detect'...).

    iMovies does not show it recognises the camera at all.

    Tests performed:
    Connected by Firewire my GS300 to my Mac 10.5.2 - does not recognise anything connected at all.
    Connected my GS300 to a Mac running on Tiger - this worked fine!
    Connected another firewire device to my Mac 10.5.2 - connected fine.
    Isolated the firewire cable and that's ok.
    Reset the PRAM.
    Turned off, reset and changed the GS300 settings while connected and while not connected etc etc. Nothing.

    Nothing helps!

    I've looked at and tried the instructions and URLs that crtrbr gave above with no luck.

    So I took the Mac and the GS300 into an Apple Service Centre for tests and was told there must be something wrong with the driver for the GS300....? What does this mean? What do I do? Panasonic Support couldn't help...

    I'm desperate now! I have no hair left...
     

Share This Page