Mini Intel on 32" LCD HDTV

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ^squirrel^, Apr 20, 2006.

  1. ^squirrel^ macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #1
    All,

    Is it worth me getting a mini to use as a media centre? I'm not too sure what kind of res the mini will be able to produce?

    Or is it worth getting an iMac and using the ext DVI connection?

    If anyone is using a mini hooked up to their tv, it would be great to see some picture?

    Thanks all

    D
     
  2. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #2
    I'm interested in doing the same thing but I think I'm going to wait a little bit. However, every review I've read, people haven't been having any problems with the mini driving their HDTV's, especially 32 inchers. I know there have been a few threads on this already so if you search maybe you'll find your answer faster.
     
  3. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    nice one, thanks for the reply. Will do some more research!
     
  4. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    My two cents:

    I have a 1GB mini duo running a 37" Westinghouse LCD at 1920x1080 with no problems whatsoever. None. 1080p QuickTime movies? Glitchless. WCIII at full settings? Great. Using it while sitting on the couch with a BT KB & mouse? Priceless.

    I connect via one of the two DVI plugs on the Westinghouse. FWIW, you need to be sure that the TV you're using will accept the video resolution you're trying to use. For example, the Westinghouse takes 1920x1080 on one DVI input, but not the other.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #5
    Whoa:eek: .....looks like you need to read some emails. :D :D :D
     
  6. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Jezzz, that looks amazing!

    Yep, will be placing my order for the Mini now.

    Thanks very much for your posts all!
     
  7. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #7
    Congrats!

    FWIW, i wish I'd gone with 2GB, either through Apple (much easier) or 3rd party vendors (much cheaper). 1GB is an acceptable minimum and works well for entertainment center purposes, but 2GB is a lot better for "real" work.

    Also, note that the solo, which cheaper, doesn't work as well. I figure you're getting the duo, but just wanted to comment.
     
  8. Uma888 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    #8
    Whats the thing under your mini.....

    Im thinking of doing the same this but with this TV

    You rekcon it would work?
     
  9. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #9
    It's an external Hard Drive from Lacie
     
  10. Max on Macs macrumors 6502

    Max on Macs

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    #10
    Phillips make the best TVs in terms of acceptance of digital signals IMO and so yes you can bet it will work well on that.
     
  11. ^squirrel^ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #11
  12. flir67 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    #12
    nice setup

    where did u get the seats at. I'm needing that for my set up right now.
     
  13. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #13
    My wife bought them locally at a place called Circle Furniture. We have four (only two shown) which can form a sort of coffee table, and the metal stands below can be placed on top for drinks, etc.
     
  14. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #14
    Note that the external DVI isn't as convenient as I had hoped for this application. The main issue is that FR displays on the primary display (the one with the dock), and blanks the secondary display, so you can't trigger this easily from the remote (at least I haven't found an easy way). Or you have to mirror the displays which only really works if the resolutions match.

    B
     
  15. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #15
    The mini will support any display with up to 1920x1200 pixels (same res. as 23" ACD). Any HD TV would be supported (as long as it has DVI connection). I would go for the duo though, with 1 GB (like jsw), perhaps 2 GB if you wanna do real heavy stuff.

    BTW jsw, cool setup.:cool:
     

Share This Page