Mini RAM upgrade - *PROBLEM SOLVED!*

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by livingfortoday, Sep 24, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #1
    Ok, I upgraded the RAM in my Mini last night, adding a new 512MB chip. I've taken this thing apart a few times now, so I'm fairly comfortable doing it. Anyways, turn it back on, RAM works fine, everything's looking good. Except. There's no sound. System Preferences tells me "No output devices found.", so I can't hear anything. Not even the built-in speaker. I shut it down, checked all the cables, and they're all fine.

    Any ideas? What the heck did I do to my Mini!? Also - it's been under a year since I bought this thing, could I bring it in to Apple to see if they can fix it, if no one here has any ideas? I have upgraded the RAM myself, and added new thermal paste to the CPU. But would they see/recognize/care about that?

    Anyways. First things first - what have I done, and how do I fix it!?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #2
    what does it say in System Profiler?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #3
    "No Built-in Audio"
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #4
    umm retrace all the cables in the box and make sure they are all plugged firmly again and see if that helps if any are loose
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #5
    Yeah, I guess I'll shut down and try that again. Maybe the second time's the charm!
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #6
    keep us posted on it
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #7
    Uh, ok, second time was in fact the charm. Or something. I hadn't put the lid back on, so I just shut it down, and wiggled all the cables about, everything was still in there tight, booted up and... startup chime. So I have sound now, oddly enough.

    Uh... so yeah. I guess my question has been answered! Thanks!
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #8
    anytime i am glad i could help
     

Share This Page