Missing Admin Account - Only have simple Finder!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Plymouthbreezer, Apr 2, 2007.

  1. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    I have a slight issue here....

    A few weeks ago, I made a new account on my TiBook for guest users... I set it so it was Simple Finder, no access to Utilities... I set it up so it would have no login password and all...

    But now, at the Login screen, I ONLY have the new Guest account. I don't even have an icon for my admin account. Now, I don't think I delted my other account, but where has it gone, and better yet, how do I get it back?!?

    Single User mode?? My Install Disk????

    Thanks!
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    If you enable root user, head to the Users folder and see if your old account is there. If it is, open it up and ensure your stuff's in it. :)
     
  3. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #3
    How do I enable root if I can't access System Preferences?
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    It's done through NetInfo Manager in the Utilities folder. It should be in the Security menu. :)
     
  5. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #5
    Hah. ok. right. But see, I can't even access ANY utilities. I created the account with Simple Finder, and everything useful is blocked.

    It seems to be quite the pickle.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Okay, I don't have any discs nearby, but try booting form them and either checking for your account or enabling root somehow. Dunno if it's possible but I'll try digging up my discs to have a look around for you. :eek:
     
  7. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #7
    I doubt this will work if the Admin account isn't showing up in the Login window, but what happens if you attempt to Run Full Finder (in the Finder Menu) while you are logged in under Simple Finder in the other account...if you enter the Admin name and password there, does it get you anywhere?
     
  8. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #8
    I did boot using my install CD... In change password, my Admin account does show up... But it doesn't give me an option to enable Root anywhere.

    TheAnswer, I'll give that a try.
     
  9. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #9
    Juts to give a sense of closure....

    I ended up just installing Panther on it, since I didn't have much of anything worth saving. Plus, Panther runs smoother on the machine, considering it only has 384MB of RAM, and a small (and slow 4200RPM), 20GB hard drive.

    Works great now. No real issues since the erase and install. :)
     

Share This Page