Missing iPhoto and iTunes Libraries after Installation

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Occamsrazr, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #1
    After installing Mountain Lion, my iTunes and iPhoto libraries are totally empty... Can anyone help please? This is not good!
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #2
    The obvious solution , restore from backup.
    No backup? Why not ?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #3
    I guess I forgot to mention that if I go to disk information, it shows 166GB of audio and 54GB of photos...

    Yes, I do have a backup. I love time machine.

    I don't think that restoring is appropriate in this situation because the data is already present - I just lost a link or something.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #4
    I'm confused. Do you have the folders there and they are just empty? Or no folders at all?
    This is the perfect time to restore from backup since your data is gone. Re-name what you have and restore. See if that fixes it. If not, simply revert back.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #5
    My data is not gone. It is still there if I go to the storage tab under "About this Mac"... If you are confused, don't worry about it.

    I was hoping someone with some expertise could help me figure out how to relink the data back into my libraries.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #6
    Figured out the problem - the mountain lion installation switched my auto-login to the administrator account. Once I switched it back to my user account, and restarted, everything was there. D'oh!
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    btbrossard

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #7
    Strange - the ML install turned off auto login on all three of my home machines. I guess it would be confusing if it switched you auto login to an account you don't often use.

    Glad you got it worked out.
     

Share This Page