Missing X11 on the MacBookPro

Discussion in 'macOS' started by atomwork, May 2, 2006.

  1. atomwork macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    #1
    I am wondering if X11 isn't working on the MacIntel. Do you guys know. I cannot find it in the utilities folder however when installing the program it says that a newer version is already on. But even spotlight won't find it.

    THanks,
    Dave
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    X11 is available on your OS X restore DVD's that came with your Mac. It is not installed on your system standard.
     
  3. atomwork thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Location:
    Miami Beach
  4. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #4
    It's in the 'optional installs' section, I believe. I just installed it myself recently.

    Installing it for gimp?
     
  5. freiheit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #5
    It should definitely be supported -- Darwin (including X11) was running on Intel and compatible PCs for years before Apple officially announced OSX for Intel. There's no reason it shouldn't work.
     

Share This Page