Mission Control

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.7 Lion' started by jake4ever, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
    #1
    So: in Mission Control I have 4 desktops + Dashboard. Does anyone know how to change the names of these Desktops (eg. Work, school..) Thanks!

    ~Jake
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 6502

    Steve Ballmer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #2
    I don't think it's possible in this build, but it does seem to imply we can assign custom names to each space (or is Desktop?) in a future build.
     
  3. PBF
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    2,924
    #3
    At least for me, Mission Control is totally messed up when certain apps/windows are open. They seem to overlay one another. Hope it is a display bug and gets fixed in the next build because I really don't like the feature in its current state.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    #4
    I love MissionControl. Never used Spaces, but I already miss it when switching to Snow Leopard.

    I'm really worried about Adobe COMPLETELY SCREWING UP their Creative Suite window management. Ow god that is going to be a nightmare.
     
  5. PBF
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    2,924
    #5
    By the way, have a look at my atrocious Mission Control:

    [​IMG]

    Does something like this happen to yours?
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
    #6
    Nope, not having that problem.

    One bug is that my Desktops are:
    Dashboard
    Desktop 1
    Desktop 3
    Desktop 2
    Desktop 4
    :confused:
     
  7. macrumors demi-god

    iPhone1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    873
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    No way to rename Spaces at the time. Ensure you file a bug report asking for this feature.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    #8
    I am a little mad they removed the show desktop function of the trackpad, but I'll get used to using a few keys instead. I also cannot switch between what app window is in front of the other when in Mission Control.
     
  9. PBF
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    2,924
    #9
    They didn't. They just slightly altered the gesture:

    Place four fingers (thumb, index, middle, ring) on trackpad, then spread them. ;)
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    #10
    Oh wow, thanks.
     
  11. PBF
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    2,924
    #11
    There's even more: place four fingers (thumb, index, middle, ring) on trackpad, then pinch them (opposite of spread), and voilà, Launchpad! :D
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    #12
    Gestures are nothing new. Get BetterTouchTool for all of your gesture needs, right on SL. Its fantastic.
     
  13. PBF
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    2,924
    #13
    Who wants a third-party solution? :p
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
    #14
    What's on it? and does it work with Lion?
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    antmarobel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Brasília
    #15
    I'm getting no success with Mission Control through mouse gesture here...Though Mission Control is configured on Mouse Configuration the "two clicks" to access Mission Control is not working with me...Any idea?
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #16
    It's two taps, not two clicks. Assuming you're using a Magic Mouse, just tap it without actually pressing down the button.

    Also, not sure if BetterTouchTool works on Lion yet.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    antmarobel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Brasília
    #17
    Nice!!! Thanks!! :D
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    mrblack927

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    827
    #18
    BetterTouchTool does indeed work with Lion. Just remember to disable the default gestures (from system preferences) before mapping them to new actions with BTT. I've been using it for a while now and it seems solid. :)
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    #19
    The most useless app included in Lion is now easily accessible!
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Steve Ballmer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #20
    You just reminded me to do just that. Filed one a minute ago, thanks.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    hellomoto4

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Australia
    #21
    Is there any way to move Spaces/Desktops around?

    For example I would like to have (in this order):
    Fullscreen Mail
    Fullscreen Safari
    Desktop 1
    Fullscreen iCal
    Desktop 2
    ... so that when I am doing work on Desktop 1, I can quickly swipe to both iCal or Mail.

    Thanks!
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Idaho
    #22
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    Essentially yes. However, at this moment you can't "move" them. It just depends on where(desktop 1, 2, 3...etc) you open an application
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    mrblack927

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    827
    #23
    Actually, they seem to move themselves. It not only depends on where you open them but also how you use them. The behavior is exactly the same as how apps in the "multitasking bar" are arranged on iOS devices. That is:

    • When you open a (full screen) app, it goes to the space immediately to the right of where you are
    • If you swipe to the app, it doesn't change the order
    • But if you click the app icon from the dock, it not only takes you there but moves it to the space to the immediate right of where you were

    So essentially what you end up with is all of your apps ordered from most recent to least recent from left to right. You can't "lock your apps in place" as far as I know. The idea is that you will always have your most used apps closest to you. I personally dislike this feature, but I imagine Apple will probably add a manual arrangement function before the release.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    #24
    Thank you!!! Answered my question perfectly! :D




     

Share This Page