Mobile Hotspot Elevate 4g + ipad data sim?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Detrias, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #1
    My question is if the mobile hotspot elevate 4g (currently offered by at&t with a minimum 5Gb data plan for 50$) is purchased out of contract, can i swap in my iPad 2Gb at&t data plan to it? Or is it just not compatible? I ask because i feel like 5Gb would be a bit of an overkill for my needs, and the $25 iPad plan is perfect for me. I have read around that uses the same micro sim card that the iPad does but not info related directed towards my question

    For the record i live in a city with 4g coverage already deployed and with heavy hspa+ coverage, so is it possible? Even if it requires some tinkering i don't mind. If i were willing to buy it for the sake of trying it and it didn't worked, whats at&t return period for mobile hotspots?

    Any feedback regarding my issue would be greatly appreciated, good day
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    #2
    Hey, were you able to confirm either way?
    I am also thinking of using my iPad 3G SIM card with the device - would like to know if it works BEFORE I buy it :)
     
  3. candrist, Mar 8, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #3
    Should Work

    This should work just fine. The iPad uses the APN of "Broadband" and so does the AT&T Elevate. You may have to get a new LTE micro sim though.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #4
    I can confirm this indeed works, thankfully i was still on the return period and I'm now waiting for the iPad 3 with the LTE built in. For anyone else who either goes with the wifi only version or an earlier one, this is a great alternative for tethering. Also you have to buy the elevate at the retail price if you don't want to be obligated to sign into a 5GB data plan contract.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #5

    How did you get around the issue of the Elevate requiring a regular sized sim and the ipad requiring the micro sim?

    I would like to purchase one data plan sim to use in both an Elevate and an ipad 3. Wondering if I should get a sim provisioned for the ipad 3 and use that in the elevate, or get the sim provisioned for the elevate and use that in the ipad 3.

    I already have the elevate so I am out of contracts and such. Thanks in advance.
     
  6. macrumors member

    drkstar

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #6
    Any update on this? Thinking about going down this route...

    Thanks...


     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #7
    Curious about this as well. I have a ipad3 with unlimited lte that I would like to share with an elevate device, or some other mifi type device without paying for another entire service plan while on the road.

    Anyone done it? Do any of the devices use the micro sim?
     
  8. macrumors member

    drkstar

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #8
    Purchased an unlocked Elevate 4G Hotspot with no contract and micoSIM card adapter from Amazon...

    will report back next week...
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #9
    I just picked up a Elevate 4G Hotspot today as well. I just went ahead and signed up for the 5G for now since I currently have a old Sprint 3G MIFI I pay $60 for the past 4+ years, it is horrible on the road so I am going to cancel that.

    I'll try my ATT iPad 4G Unlimited microsim when I get home on Monday/Tuesday.

    I hate having to worry about limits. I would pay $100/mo to have unlimited within reason or throttled after some certain limit instead of just starting to pay overages.. I hate overage charges.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #10
    I can confirm it works great.. I just tested the Elevate with my iPad card. Saves me from having to pay for 2 monthly fee's
     
  11. macrumors member

    drkstar

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #11
    Great News!
    My Elevate 4G is in route...
     
  12. macrumors member

    drkstar

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #12
    Can confirm also that it works great... just need a micro SIM -> SIM adapter...
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #13
    Thanks for all the replies in this thread. I have an Elevate 4G is on its way to me so I can use my my iPad 3rd gen unlimited AT&T LTE plan SIM.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #14
    I've had my ipad unlimited data plan in an at&t elevate for a few months now and it works great. I use it to keep my ipod touch and Google nexus 7 tablet online.

    But now I'm considering buying an unlimited plan off of someone to put in my ipad and give it to my wife.

    Would this work?

    My concern is that my original plan is still associated with the ipad and putting in a new plan would some how cancel the original that is now in my elevate.

    Anyone have any experience with this? Thanks.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #15
    Do you get LTE speed on the Elevate 4G with a 3G SIM from an iPad 1 or 2?
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #16
    Iphone Sim in Mobile HotSpot

    Have any of you been able to confirm using an iphone sim with an unlimited data plan in a mobile hotspot? Will the Elevate recgonize the sim?

    I want to do away with my internet at home as I am not home often. I can add a dumb phone to my account for $10. So I was thinking of taking my iPhone unlimited sim, forwarding the phone calls to the new phone, and putting the sim in a mobile hotspot.

    What do you guys think?
     
  17. macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #17
    also worth mentioning, Verizon ipads have free tethering. That's why I went with Verizon even though I was originally going with AT&T
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    einmusiker

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #18
    I was gona say... why not just use the free hotspot on the iPad? That's what I do better than swapping sims around
     
  19. macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #19
    Yeah, i agree.
    at&t doens't allow it unless you have one of the more expensive plans though.
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #20
    I have ATT - I am not switching to Verizon. I do NOT want to carrying around an iPad.

    So . . . can anyone confirm if an iPhone sim with data plan will work in an ATT 4g Mobile Hotspot device?
     

Share This Page