Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

carsteve

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 7, 2010
I'm having an issue with MobileMe aliases (i only have four aliases, their server shows I have 5). I entered a query to MobileMe support and spoke with a support staffer via online chat. That staffer elevated my issue to a senior member of the MobileMe team. They reviewed my issue for a day or two, and they are now asking me to log into my account and alter passwords so they can access it and test the issue for themselves. They are assuring me that my privacy will be protected, blah blah blah.

I'm wondering if anyone else has had an issue which required MobileMe support to access their account in this manner (altering your password so they can get into it, etc). I'm sure you can understand my hesitation. I have no experience with MobileMe support so if anyone has any background information or similar experiences, if you would share them that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

DannySmurf

macrumors 6502a
Jul 7, 2005
That makes no sense. They should be able to change/reset the password for themselves if they need to log into your account.

Cancelled
May 21, 2009
They wanted to do the same thing with both my wife's account and mine when we were having e-mail problems. The guy sent one single e-mail through my account and washed his hands of our problem. We were both getting SMTP timeouts in different locations, networks, and Macbooks. It was indeed a problem with the service but we got no reprieve.

The problem was ultimately fixed for us--we switched everything to Gmail and haven't had a problem.

Apple's MobileMe support is a complete joke.

Macsterguy

macrumors 6502a
Jun 5, 2007
Texas
Yes, back some time ago They worked with me on an issue and did the same thing. I don't think you have anything to worry about. If you are, change your password when they are thru...