MoH AA & Tiger issue?

Discussion in 'Games' started by dmseads, May 25, 2005.

  1. dmseads macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Since loading up Tiger I can't seem to get Medal of Honor Allied Asault to run at all. Tried reloading it but no luck, and no clue if it's maybe an issue with Tiger or some setting I'm overlooking or what. Any thoughts.

    Top portion of Apple report log looked like this (there's a lot more to the report but unfortunately I'm not smart enough too know what any of it means):
    ----------------------------------------------------------

    Command: Medal of Honor
    Path: /Applications/Medal of Honor/Medal of Honor
    Parent: WindowServer [56]

    Version: MOHAA 1.14 (Medal of Honor Allied Assault 1.14)

    PID: 221
    Thread: 0

    Exception: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0001)
    Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE (0x0002) at 0x00000020

    Thread 0 Crashed:
    0 Medal of Honor 0x00562378 Sys_Error + 120
    1 Medal of Honor 0x00498934 Com_Error + 692
    2 Medal of Honor 0x004a1f6c FS_InitFilesystem + 124
    3 Medal of Honor 0x00499e8c Com_Init + 652
    4 Medal of Honor 0x004b21a0 main + 128
     
  2. dmseads thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Finally got to the bottom of this and forgot to post what it was. Apparently (for some software) the Hard Drive name can't have any spaces in it.

    *Hard Drive name "John Q Public HD" = no game
    *Hard Drive name "JohnQPublicHD" = game

    Out of all the software I've got on there, the only two things I suddenly couldn't open when I loaded Tiger were Medal of Honor and Windows Media Player. Tried reloading multiple times (plus a half dozen other tricks), but still no go. Finally got a tip to rename the HD. Did that to close up a space, reloaded both again, and I was back in business.
     
  3. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Glad to see it got you out of trouble, but I also play MOHAA on 10.4.1 on a disk called (quite boringly, I know :eek: ) "Macintosh HD", thus with a space in it.
    No problems at all.

    Did you do an upgrade from Panther, or a clean install and installed MOHAA again. Or did you put all your saved games back. Maybe those saved games files are disk-name related... ?
     
  4. dmseads thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    I just upgraded from Panther the first time. When I had trouble with MOH and WMP I tried re-installing them. Then I tried dumping preference files, repairing permissions an the like. No luck at all though. So then I tried a clean install of Tiger. Still no luck with either MOH or WMP.

    I kind of gave up on it for awhile cause everything else worked fine. Then I ran across a couple threads over at the Apple Support Message Boards where people were saying the hard drive name was throwing off WMP in Tiger (the specific suggestion was that spaces, and characters other than letters/numbers were the problem). I figured I'd give it a shot, and sure enough, as soon as I changed the Hard Drive name, I reloaded WMP and it worked fine. Then I figured I'd try loading MOH again, and it worked fine too.

    It's wierd you don't have the same problem though. Which makes you think it's not so much an automatic issue, but just another something that can (but won't necessarily) hang you up. Another thing to add to the troubleshoot options. I'll try and dig up the thread tonight and see if there was any followup.
     
  5. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    Yeah, tnx for the info.

    I wonder if others have had similar problems. Many MacRumors members would certainly have tried MOH and/or WMP on Tiger, one can safely assume :)
     
  6. alex242 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Chile
    #6
    I´ve tried that but the program close when loading the game.

    Date/Time: 2006-04-12 08:05:45.041 -0400
    OS Version: 10.4.6 (Build 8I1119)
    Report Version: 4

    Command: mohaa
    Path: /Users/Documents/Games/MoHAA/Medal of Honor/mohaa
    Parent: WindowServer [55]
    Rosetta: Yes

    Version: MOHAA 1.12 (Medal of Honor Allied Assault 1.12)

    PID: 1571
    Thread: 0

    Exception: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0001)
    Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS (0x0001) at 0x10833000

    Thread 0 Crashed:
    0 <<00000000>> 0x7e9bd0fa 0 + 2124140794
    1 <<00000000>> 0xbfffb8b0 0 + -1073760080

    Thread 1:
    0 LaunchCFMApp 0xb81f2deb strchr + 72
    1 LaunchCFMApp 0xb818e52a pthread_cond_wait + 3114
    2 LaunchCFMApp 0xb812a9b0 catch_exception_raise_state_identity + 320
    3 LaunchCFMApp 0xb8129eda CallPPCFunctionAtAddressInt + 174780
    4 LaunchCFMApp 0xb8129dd1 CallPPCFunctionAtAddressInt + 174515
    5 LaunchCFMApp 0xb812aaae catch_exception_raise_state_identity + 574
    6 LaunchCFMApp 0xb81c3f0c pthread_create + 1124
     
  7. alex242 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Chile
  8. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #8
    That's a kernel panic. Tried a hardware test?
     
  9. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    The newest patches can be found here
    I own the Medal of Honor Warchest DVD, and it runs perfectly on my Quad with 10.4.5 (haven't played it running 10.4.6 yet...), and the version of MOHAA is 1.14b

    I can recommend it.
     
  10. alex242 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Chile
    #10
    I may do a hardware test, but the same problem appears on a G5 Dual 1.8 Panther 1Gb Ram and on iMac Core Duo Tiger with 512 Ram. The Mohaa crashes in the same point, so I guess it's not a hardware problem.

    Im asking for the 1.13 patch 'cos that the only patch I havn't tried yet; I've tried 1.12 and 1.14b patchs but problem persists.

    Thanks for your comments, please any help will be appreciated.
     
  11. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    I searched my FileServer and found one!

    WOOPS... broken file... please wait

    Crap.. hard time finding a good 1.13 updater....
     
  12. alex242 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Chile
  13. alex242 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Chile
    #13
    MacsRgr8:
    I got it. But it has .gz extension, when expanded it has the exec icon, Info says its a Unix Executable file. Is that ok?
     
  14. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    That's the one I had...
    I don't think that'll work, I'm afarid. Dunno what happened to it.

    I'll keep looking....
     
  15. alex242 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Chile
    #15
    I´ve found 1.13 update. Problem persist.
    Someone says it´s a kernel panic. I don´t think it´s a hardware problem, since same happens in two different computers with differents systems. Maybe there´s some Console tweaking?
    I badly need to play this game!!!!!

    Please keep posting
     
  16. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #16
    Hmmm, interesting, I have the same on my dual G5 1.8. It just crashes randomly, for hours it's fine and then it crashes two or three times when restarting the game. Owh, I have the 1.15 version of MOHAA installed, and run 10.4.6 now, had the same problems under 10.4.5.
     
  17. alex242 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Chile
  18. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #18
    No it's not a kernal panic, not that I'm aware off. It's mainly in spearhead (at least I play that the most as a multiplayer against friends online or in a LAN), and in the middle of a level it just freezes and I can't do anything then. Sometimes I can quit MOHAA the hard way (Apple+Alt+Esc), and sometimes it doesn't repond to that, so that I have to shut my G5 down holding the power button. It never happend in the menu, always in a level. Even levels that are from the game. Last weekend it happend with the level "Bridges" twice.

    Owh, what's up with levels that are made by gamers that don't work with a Mac?? I and a friend (has an eMac) both can't run some levels. They just crash when the level is trying to load. These are the levels that don't have a progressbar that let's you see how far the level has loaded. Very annoying!
     

Share This Page