Moller International's Skycar - WHEN?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by MacVault, Mar 6, 2004.

1. MacVault macrumors 65816

Just wondering if the SkyCar (http://www.moller.com) will ever become a reality.?? I've been keeping my eye on this thing for the last 6 or 7 years, and it's starting to seem like a classic "vaporware" idea. The dates for launch seem to keep getting pushed further into the future every year. If it really came to be it seems like it would almost be the holy grail to personal transportation. I WANT TO BUY ONE NOW!

But now they're selling crazy stuff on their website such as life-extension-almond-butter, another endevour by Paul Moller so that he "can see the day that his SkyCar actually flies". WTF!?!?

:confused:

2. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

rainman::|:|

my impression has always been, regardless of what claims they lay out, this thing couldn't hit the market for 10-20 years. If it's really possible, and not a pipe dream/investor scam. Granted, they have produced at least prototypes, which have been displayed at various events. But, judging from the website, I'd say it's not going to happen at all-- the site is pretty poorly constructed for such a revolutionary company. They didn't even test their links out. Maybe someone actually believes what they're saying, maybe it's just a dead-end scam. Either way, i doubt it'll see the light of day.

Beyond that, there are serious logistics problems... Fuel is a big one, most gas stations i've been to don't have jet fuel on hand. And, the average consumer can barely drive a car, let alone pilot a small aircraft. Learning to drive one of these safely, and proper licensing, would be a huge hurdle. I don't think society will be ready for personal aircraft for a century or more.

paul

3. evoluzione macrumors 68020

evoluzione

down the road, that's where i'll always be