Monitor for G4 Sawtooth

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by macwild, Jan 24, 2006.

1. macwild macrumors newbie

Newbie here. Running OSX 4.3 on a G4 (Sawtooth - AGP graphics). I have an old Apple monitor that works fine; I want to use that monitor for my pallets when using graphics programs. I need a second monitor to create on. I was told that my old mac would not support one of the newer Apple displays and that I need VGA. Could someone recommend a good VGA flat screen monitor that would work with my old G4? I would like 17" or 19".

Thank you.

macwild

2. jeremy.king macrumors 603

jeremy.king

3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

It sounds more like a video card issue. I've used a Radeon 9000 on a Digital Audio @ 467 Mhz and I ran two DVI 17" Dell LCD's. I had to convert one of the ADC sockets to DVI though. It was a cheap $15 adapter.

4. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

Lord Blackadder

Just about ANY VGA compatible display should work with your Mac.

What video card do you have? (you can check by going to About This Macintosh, clicking More Info and then clicking on graphics/displays or something like that). I'm asuming by what you're telling me that you have a dual-display capable card (it has two ports on the back to connect to displays)?

It might be a good idea to consider upgrading your video card to a newer one that can handle a DVI monitor, not to mention having more VRAM. Ebay is awash with decent used Mac video cards.

5. jeremy.king macrumors 603

jeremy.king

I am guessing since he/she mentions graphic design, he was looking for a solid monitor for design work.

6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

I've used the old trusted 15-pin blue VGA and the spiffy new white DVI cables before on my monitors. I've seen no quality difference between the two.

7. jeremy.king macrumors 603

jeremy.king