Monolingual stripped Rosetta - HELP!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by DivideOverflow, Nov 8, 2006.

  1. DivideOverflow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #1
    Hi everyone,
    So I used Monolingual to get rid of some localisations in order to free some space on my MB. I also (for some reason) used the default setting of deleting all architectures except Intel (so all PPC ones). Now, Microsoft Office won't work for me (the icons bounce for half a second then stop). I suspect that Monolingual has deleted Rosetta off my system. Is there any way of restoring Rosetta (e.g. from a package file on the OSX restore disks or performing an upgrade from the restore disk?). Any help gladly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    It hasn't deleted Rosetta (because Rosetta is not a PPC binary, it's an x86 binary). What it has done is remove the PPC sections from the binaries in Office. As there are no Intel binaries you now don't have any code to run. Re-install Office and all will be good.
     
  3. DivideOverflow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #3
    Hi and thanks for your swift reply. Unfortunately, I have tried copying the MS Office apps from the CD and it still doesn't work (the install office app won't run so I just opened the folder and dragged the apps I have installed over and overwrote the existing files). Also, the remove office app won't run on the CD or on my HD.
    As you can see, I'm in a bit of a pickle!
    Any further help much appreciated (really hope I don't need to reinstall OSX!)
     
  4. Sherman Homan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #4
    How come the Office Installer won't run? I sense some other problem, the fact that the Office apps on your hard drive and the Installer on the CD won't run seems related. Can you make a temporary User account, log into it and see if Office runs? That would suggest a problem with something in your own User account.
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Take a look at the Console log as this should tell you what is going wrong. Try downloading and running another PPC application to confirm Rosetta is working...
     
  6. DivideOverflow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #6
    Console log

    Mac OS X Version 10.4.8 (Build 8L2127)
    2006-11-08 14:36:05 +0000
    dyld: Library not loaded: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/CoreServices
    Referenced from: /Library/Application Support/Norton Solutions Support/Norton AntiVirus/SAVDiskMountNotify.app/Contents/MacOS/SAVDiskMountNotify
    Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/CoreServices: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/CoreServices: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/CoreServices: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    dyld: Library not loaded: /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Carbon
    Referenced from: /Applications/Microsoft AutoUpdate.app/Contents/MacOS/Microsoft AU Daemon.app/Contents/MacOS/Microsoft AU Daemon
    Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Carbon: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Carbon: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    dyld: Library not loaded: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreFoundation.framework/Versions/A/CoreFoundation
    Referenced from: /Library/Application Support/Norton Solutions Support/Norton AntiVirus/ScanNotification.app/Contents/MacOS/ScanNotification
    Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreFoundation.framework/Versions/A/CoreFoundation: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreFoundation.framework/Versions/A/CoreFoundation: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    dyld: Library not loaded: /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/ApplicationServices
    Referenced from: /Library/Application Support/Norton Solutions Support/Scheduler/SymSecondaryLaunch.app/Contents/MacOS/SymSecondaryLaunch
    Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/ApplicationServices: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/ApplicationServices: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    2006-11-08 14:36:06.011 SystemUIServer[88] lang is:en
    Nov 8 14:36:06 my-computer mDNSResponder: Adding browse domain local.
    Nov 8 14:36:13 my-computer ntpdate[187]: can't find host time.euro.apple.com\n
    Nov 8 14:36:13 my-computer ntpdate[187]: no servers can be used, exiting
    dyld: Library not loaded: /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Carbon
    Referenced from: /Applications/iSerial Reader/iSerial Reader.app/Contents/MacOS/iSerial Reader
    Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Carbon: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Carbon: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    dyld: Library not loaded: /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Carbon
    Referenced from: /Applications/iSerial Reader/iSerial Reader.app/Contents/MacOS/iSerial Reader
    Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Carbon: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Carbon: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    SystemFlippers: didn't consume all data for vers ID 1 (pBase = 0x15dfed60, p = 0x15dfed89, pEnd = 0x15dfed91)
    dyld: Library not loaded: /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Carbon
    Referenced from: /Applications/iSerial Reader/iSerial Reader.app/Contents/MacOS/iSerial Reader
    Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Carbon: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Carbon: mach-o, but wrong architecture
     
  7. DivideOverflow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #7
    Another thing to bear in mind...

    From Monolingual's FAQ:
    Q. Should I remove the non-Intel architectures on my Intel based Mac?
    A. You can use Monolingual to remove non-Intel architectures for your installed applications (even if some of the applications are PowerPC-only; Monolingual is smart enough not to remove PPC forks if those are the only ones in the universal binary). However, you should not strip the System frameworks if you want to use Rosetta. Rosetta needs the PowerPC code for all frameworks used by the emulated application and if it can't find it, you may see messages such as the following in the console:

    /System/Library/Frameworks/Cocoa.framework/Versions/A/Cocoa:
    mach-o, but wrong architecture
     
  8. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    You are boned. Sorry. All of the PPC parts of ALL of the shared libraries on the system have been removed (as you requested). As Rosetta relies on being able to execute the entire app INCLUDING all the required libraries and plugins in PPC it will not be able to start ANY PPC app.

    Time to restore from backup (which you of course took before modifying the entire system right)...
     
  9. DivideOverflow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #9
    NO backup!

    ARGH no I haven't :eek: Luckily, my computer is only a couple of weeks old so I don't have that much stuff on it yet. So how should I go about restoring it? Back up my documents and then reinstall OSX from the DVDs? How about using Pacifist to restore things from the OSX installation DVD (as a user on macosx.com's forum has suggested)?
    Thanks for your help!
     
  10. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Backup your data and resinstall from scratch. Pacifist is great if you only need to install a single app or package from the install DVD, but as you need to install working copies of EVERY framework you'll be quicker just installing the whole OS. You could take this chance to wipe the drive and do a customized install to only install the printer drivers, languages and so on you need as you seem to be trying to get more free disk space. If you don't need iDVD or GarageBand don't install them either as the themes/samples for these apps are huge (multiple GBs of data).
     
  11. DivideOverflow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #11
    Thank you very much for the advice. I will do that. I have never reinstalled OSX from scratch - presumably it will remove everything from my hard drive? I just need to insert the DVD, restart the computer and boot from the disk? Sounds like it will be easier to reinstall. I should've read the bloody FAQ on Monolingual's website! It saved me just under a gig of space, so I guess it's done more harm than good in this case! Once all apps move to Universal Binary I guess all the PPC architectures can be deleted - but I shan't be doing that for a few years at least!
    Thanks again for your help, I really appreciate it :)
     
  12. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #12
    An Archive and Install will work just fine...and it'll preserve all of your data.

    I can't believe the Monolingual folks haven't fixed this. The default behavior of the program should not break Rosetta.
     
  13. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #13
    You can Archive & Install as suggest by wildcowboy but this will keep your old System folder archived which will cost you disk space (but keep your data intact). Or you can wipe and install from scratch. This will give you the chance for a more minimal installation but at the cost of removing all your data...
     
  14. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #14
    Monolingual borked my entire install of Adobe CS2. I will never use it again or any other program that advertises the same type of functionality.
     
  15. DivideOverflow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #15
    I don't think you have to go that far - I'd just completely avoid using the architecture removal (the localisation removal is quite useful, I think).
    Maybe the people at Monolingual should change the default settings to include PPC architecture!
     
  16. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #16
    All I removed were the "uneeded" localization files. That's it.
     
  17. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #17
    Did you uncheck all of the options on the Architectures pane?
     
  18. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #18
    Yes. What it came down to was in an Adobe update they tried to patch a localization file that was removed. When that happened the installation failed. Tried to run the installer again and it had failed a second time. In launching any of the CS apps they failed at startup. Had to do a manual uninstall then reinstall.
     
  19. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #19
    Interesting. FWIW, people seem to be having luck with Delocalizer. It hasn't been updated in a long time, so I hesitated to recommend it to people because I wasn't sure if it was working on Intel Macs. But I've recently seen reports of people using it successfully. And it doesn't try to mess with the architectures.
     
  20. DivideOverflow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #20
    Boot Camp - potential issues?

    ok people, I was just backing up my stuff ready to reinstall OSX when I realised that I'm running Boot Camp - will reinstalling OSX have any impact on my XP partition? Please help ASAP as I'm going abroad tomorrow and really want to sort my computer out tonight.
    Thanks!
     
  21. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #21
    I've read something like that before. I think people keep those files Adobe looks for during each update, but still I'd stay away from delocalizing Adobe products. Better safe than sorry...
     
  22. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #22
    Does Monolingual let you choose which applications to delocalize? I don't remember it haven't that capability when I used it way back when.
     
  23. DivideOverflow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    #23
    No, Monolingual searches your computer for apps and delocalises them all.
     

Share This Page