Monolingual + stupidity

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by shrimpdesign, Apr 22, 2006.

  1. shrimpdesign macrumors 6502a

    shrimpdesign

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    #1
    They don't mix.

    I recently downloaded Monolingual since I have heard about it, and recently found out it was Universal. So I opened it on my Intel iMac, deleted a bunch of languages, which was cool, and then I saw the Architectures tab. Bad idea.

    I deleted all PPC based execution code.

    I forgot Photoshop was PPC.

    The weird thing is, Activity Monitor, Installer and a couple other utilities didn't work. And since I had to use Installer to reinstall the previously mentioned dead Photoshop, I had to reinstall OS X. Not fun.

    The moral of the story? Don't play with guns.
     
  2. jacg macrumors 6502a

    jacg

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Location:
    UK
  3. Soisauce001 macrumors newbie

    Soisauce001

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Chino Hills, Ca
    #3
    Dooode I did the same exact thing.. I had a couple of programs running under Rosetta and they wouldn't work after that.. At first I thought I got a virus.. Cuz certain programs would give me like 2 bounces in my dock and then they would die...

    After awhile I realize that I was overly zealous on trying to free up to space on my HDD..and Yes I had to reinstall OS X... But I learned my lesson after that.. You live and you learn.. right?
     
  4. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #4
    You ain't from around these parts eh fella? ;)
     
  5. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #5
    Did you check to see if there were any package installers for this PPC execution code on your Installer disks? Just curious if a complete reinstall is necessary in a situation like this.
     
  6. steelfist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    #6
    that section is reserved for g series owners. very helpful for my g4 ibook
     
  7. shrimpdesign thread starter macrumors 6502a

    shrimpdesign

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    #7
    Ok, so here's the weird thing. After I installed OSX again, all my PPC apps work in Rosetta again ..... soooooo... don't mess with "Architectures" with Monolingual on Intel Macs.
     

Share This Page