More Members for Folding@Home

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Tiauguinho, Sep 21, 2002.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Tiauguinho

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    I noticed that there are a few members toward the bottom of the list who apparently turned it on once but have never turned it on again. If they would just contribute, it would help some.

    If we start looking like MacCentral or the Apple team...
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tiauguinho

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    How many computer exactly do we have working on this? Another question that I would like to ask, is if you guys know if a new version of Folding Control is available to work on Jaguar?
     
  4. macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #4
    no new version of folding control i know of yet....

    i have 2 processors going. one computer


    and an imac 700 sometimes. very rarely now. just when i go home
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    I haven't seen anything new, although the terminal/shell version works just fine, even for multiple processor machines.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Location:
    chicago
    #6
    I'm putting 5 more Dell 1.7ghz boxes on our team. They're content filters at my work, but are massive overkill for the job.

    Should I do the cli client for win2k or the regular one, minimized in the taskbar? I'm wondering if there really is a speed difference between them.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #7
    Hopefully within the week I will be back up and running. My computer has been out for 2+ weeks since it decided to lose some system files. As soon as I can recover the data I want I'll be set again. Sigh.
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #8
    Thanks! It'll make a big difference. I think that's the first time I was glad to have a Dell. :)

    With Win2K, I would expect minimal difference although graphical applications always take up something more, even when they're idling.
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #9
    Well, those 5 dells, will be a nice addition. We might have to take a more intelligent approach and find out what members have the big resources to bring into play and get them on the team.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #10
    i might try taking over the library machines

    every little bit helps…
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Location:
    chicago
    #11
    I wish they would come out with an alti-vec accelerated client for OS X. It would definitely speed things up for my Mac clients. They're getting wasted by my cheap-o Dual 1.3 ghz Duron computer at home. That thing kicks serious butt.

    Heck, next year when we start moving to OS X on our workstations (mainly labs) it would be nice to have a hidden client. I used to have a hidden client on dnetc for OS 9, but it slowed the computers down a LOT. X would definitely multi-task better. I've got 120 eMacs I could throw it on here. Shoot, I've got about 1,000 G3's and higher here, but they're all running 9.
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #12
    Damn! That would 1000s of units a week....wow. But I agree with the alti-vec issue. Maybe in version 4. Is there any place we can go and request something from the people at folding@home?

    D
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #13
    This would probably be the best place.

    …as for altivec, they won't have it til they switch their core to gromacs. Then the mac teams would rise in rank significantly.
     
  14. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #14
    At least, we're back to position 41, for the moment. :)
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    Stike

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Germany
    #15
    Yeah, I played my part! Im folding like mad recently and made Folding a startup item. Its great for DSL flatrate!

    But I had to skip SETI, it was slowing me down a LOT. :rolleyes:

    Which one is now faster? Commandline or GUI version? Is it significant?
     
  16. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #16
    It's going to be a long haul to pass the next couple of teams...3000 points or so...

    And with a couple of teams approaching from behind...

    If our eMac lab ever comes in we'll have another 30 or so machines to add. :D
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Location:
    chicago
    #17
    Rower, when you get your eMac lab in check all the computers for a snapping video problem. We had 120 eMacs come in and we're sending roughly 60 back to Apple (I personally know the head of iMac Support at Apple). Anyways, what happens is that when the eMacs are powered on the video makes a snapping sound and flashes on and off. It's rather disturbing, especially when kids are using these computers. Apple's discussion boards are filled with complaints about this, so they're probably fixed it by now. Just wanted to warn you to check this out.
     
  18. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #18
    We should recruit teabgs, now that he's got his new dual 1.25.....he won't be rendering all the time.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tiauguinho

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #19
    Good idea Dukestreet! We should PM him and bring him to the Macrumors team.
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    Hmm, I did a couple of units for Folding. However, I decided that until it used my G4's altivec I would not start again. Any progress on that front? I have a Dual 1Ghz so could do a fair amount!
     
  21. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #21
    Thanks for the info! I will definitely look for that.

    It's still going to be a month or two before we might get them...hopefully there's a rev before then.
     
  22. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #22
    Ummm...bad attitude. You could do a fair amount, full stop. The code might never be AltiVec-enhanced and we're certainly not in control. :) Contribute anyway, please.
     
  23. macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    Is there a Folding Control Program that has the new v.3 core?
     
  24. macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    Ok, I have downloaded the console version + am running 1 copy on my machine. I'll start doing my bit for the Folding team.
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #25
    I've been running flat out on an IBM 800Mhz and a Dell 550. I'm going to add a 4 processor Compaq server on Monday and perhaps a second if that one works well. Gotta get our score up!
     

Share This Page