More RAM for HD4000

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by Galatian, Jun 13, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin
    #1
    Hey,

    I installed the 10.9 Beta yesterday and so far I'm really surprised how stable it is. The one thing I noticed though is that the RAM allocates to the HD4000 graphic processor in my 13" rMBP has increased from 768 MB to 1024 MB. I'm not sure if this is just per accident, because my Mac just had more free RAM to allocate or if they made sure 1024 MB are always allocated to the graphic processor? Can anyone confirm my findings?

    Best
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #2
    Same thing on my 15in retina

    My Intel HD Graphics 4000 is now saying 1024 in my 15in macbook pro
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    NY State of mind
    #3
    How much physical RAM do you have installed? 8GB? 16GB?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    For the record, my 4GB MBA shows 1024MB allocated under Mavericks.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #5
    More RAM for HD4000

    I have 16GB in my mbpr.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    FlatlinerG

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Prince Edward Island, Canada
    #6
    Anyone know if this is only the HD4000 or if this is with the HD3000 as well.
     
  7. myxomatosis, Jun 13, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2013

    macrumors member

    myxomatosis

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location:
    Montréal
    #7
    Same here.

    Retina MBP 15" - 16Gb RAM

    [​IMG]

    ML allocated 512Mb or memory for the Intel HD 4000. Mavericks allocates 1024Mb.

    It may explain why scrolling is smoother in general... :)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin
    #8
    I have just gone back to a fresh Mountain Lion installation and it show 768 MB again, so I pretty much think this is confirmed. I have 8 GB installed.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Nero Wolfe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  10. macrumors 6502a

    dastinger

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #10
    Is it normal that on a 15" rMBP the allocated RAM to the HD4000 is 512MB? I have 16GB total. I'm just asking because Galatian just said that there are 768MB allocated on his 13" rMBP. Is it because there's only one graphics card?

    Cause I've been only using the HD4000 and been noticing some lag overall.. was wondering if it was possible to allocate more memory and if 512MB is normal or not.

    Sorry for the off topic.
     
  11. macrumors member

    myxomatosis

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location:
    Montréal
    #11
    512MB under Mountain Lion is normal. Mavericks though seems to allocate 1024MB.
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #12
    Mid-2012 13" cMBP w/ 8 GB RAM, and it's showing 1024 MB for me too. Very welcome change!
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #13
    This is confirmed that OSX Mavericks has increased the RAM for the Intel HD 4000 up to 1024MB up from 512MB. This is necessary to improve UI scrolling and better overall performance. In doing this, Apple made some changes for better Battery life as well and moving Core Animation to the GPU for better GPU based rendering. The physical amount of RAM installed in your machine will not be affected, its just how its allocated and distributed is the change. Its a very welcoming change in my opinion!
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    dastinger

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #14
    Thanks mate. Really glad they made this change. Let's see how it works out for lag and battery life.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    macuserx86

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    #15
    Should be a nice boost for the rMBP 13" owners especially.
    they must be confident in their memory compression technology.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #16
    Same for my 2012 13" MBP

    Any possibility this could transfer over into bootcamp Windows 7 too? I would love the extra memory for gaming.
     
  17. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #17
    That depends on the driver you have installed on the Windows side, and is 100% unaffected by changes on the Mac side.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #18
    My HD3000 shows 512 still with Mavericks and I have 16 GB installed
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
  20. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #20
    Hmm... according to this Intel article, the hardware limit is ~1.7 GB of shared RAM for that particular GPU. Not sure why, with 16 GB physical RAM, it wouldn't use at least 1 GB.
     

Share This Page