More wireless router questions...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by TonyLennon, Oct 30, 2005.

  1. TonyLennon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    #1
    I searched through the archives, but I can't find an answer to this specific question. I have two computers in my house: One Mac and one PC. The PC is wireless, but the Mac is NOT. I bought a Linksys Wireless-G router, and the setup is easy enough on the PC (with the setup disk), but I can't get my Mac to work with it. Of course, Linksys' tech support line doesn't offer Mac support. It seems like this should be relatively simple...Suggestions?? I'm running OSX 10.3.9.
     
  2. Verto macrumors 6502a

    Verto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #2

    If your Mac isn't wireless, how is it connected to the router? Through an ethernet cable?
     
  3. TonyLennon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    #3
    Yes. Through an ethernet cable. The Mac is going to have to stay wired to the router.
     
  4. TodVader macrumors 6502a

    TodVader

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #4
    I do the opposite here:

    iBook wireless
    PC box via ethernet cord

    I use the linksys wireless router with 4 ethernet plugs.

    Update the filmware of the router. I had the same problems with the wired PC before the update.

    I hope this helps.

    The filmware upgrade is on their website.
     
  5. Verto macrumors 6502a

    Verto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #5
    Make sure you have the modem, router and computer all turned off, then plug in the Ethernet cable. Then bring the modem on, then the router, then the comp.
     

Share This Page