more x11

Discussion in 'macOS' started by UncleUrgle, Nov 9, 2006.

1. UncleUrgle macrumors newbie

Thanks for the howls of derision and closure of thread. Charming. mduser63, Thanks for your response, it was more reasonable than most of the others.
    Here's what I know:
    1. x11 is not on _my_ install discs AFAIK (MacBookPro purchased Sept06) . It is not in the 'bundled software' package. (There is x11 SDK in Xcode tools folder). I find no sign of anything called optional installs on my install discs. I did not choose the option to restart my computer and install OSX, don't tell me they hid it in there?
    2. I find no reference to x11 and intel chips on Apple websites
    3.install help isn't helpful
    4. There is talk on some boards that x11 is not supported on Intel macs
    5. Apple tech support _explicitly_ told me x11 does not run on intel macs, it is not supported and there are no plans to support it.
    I'm not stupid and I'm no newbie, but it's not impossible that I've missed something obvious. So how about some actual help rather than ridicule?

2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member

Here is an Apple support article on Migration Assistant mentioning that some PPC apps might not work when migrated to Intel Macs. They use X11 as an example:

I don't own an Intel Mac, but I know there are plenty of people here at MacRumors who are using X11 just fine on their Intel Macs.

You may have to drill down a bit through the Optional Installs to find the X11User.pkg, but it's there.

3. Benjamin macrumors 6502a

Benjamin

Install instructions are here.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?path=Mac/10.4/en/mh1624.html

And Apple even says to reinstall for ppl moving from PPC to Intel for the X11 UB.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=304302