Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shawsinio

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 29, 2006
UK
Im fairly new to macs, so was hoping all you veteran users could tell me what applications you find most useful (not normal things like iPhoto or whatever), but little things you use in your widgets all the time perhaps? or applications that always seem to be running in your dock, that you just wonder how you ever managed without!

be cool to see all your replies

shawsinio

j26

macrumors 68000
Mar 30, 2005
Paddyland
For ripping my dvds I use Mac The Ripper and Handbrake - it's great to have a backup copy and I can watch films on the go.

For text editing I use NeoOffice which is pretty fully featured, but can be slow to open, so I keep AbiWord on hand as it opens quickly. I also have VoodooPad which is a kind of Wiki on your mac and is very handy for notes, or for keeping odd bits of information (I don't like stickies - they dominate a 12" screen)

iPhoto Buddy is great for keeping your photos in separate library. Scenic shots go in one and family photos and such like go in the other. Sometimes it's easier to have a couple of libraries.

PDFLab is great for splitting pdf files which makes it easier for me to keep information in the correct place.

Windows Media Player for playing wmv's.

I don't have Tiger yet, so I don't use widgets.
All of the above are free or shareware, except VoodooPad, but there is a free VoodooPad Light that is free.

flyfish29

macrumors 68020
Feb 4, 2003
New HAMpshire
The yoda widget is the best!

No not really...

I like Macjanitor to do all the maintenance tasks quick and easy.
Go to versiontracker.com to get it- it is free which is always nice!

Product Description:
Freeware utility to run the system's daily, weekly, and monthly maintenance scripts.