Motion Benchmark - CALL for Entries

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by adamfilip, Aug 23, 2004.

  1. adamfilip macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
    #1
    I am putting together a Motion benchmark

    if anyone has motion. can you please go to the following site
    and join in.

    Motion Benchmark
     
  2. JeDiBoYTJ macrumors 6502a

    JeDiBoYTJ

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    #2
    once I get my PowerBook, with Production Suite (hopefully tomorrow), i'll post mine. :)
     
  3. adamfilip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
  4. nacl99 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Location:
    AZ
    #4
    Good someone is organizing this, its interesting.


    Motion is a beast though, runs "ok" but not very realtime on my 1.25 powerbook. Good program though
     
  5. jimsowden macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    Motion isn't for the G4. It runs, but only because apple had to have it run. It was made for the G5, and thats where the only acceptable preformance comes from.
     
  6. adamfilip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
    #6
    perhaps.. but if your a G4 owner.. you should have the right to atleast try.

    also acceptable performance is an opinion not a fact

    just like with games. some people complain when there game runs less then 60fps. some people are very happy just running at 30
     
  7. nacl99 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Location:
    AZ
    #7
    From apple's site....
    Minimum System Requirements
    Macintosh computer with 867MHz or faster PowerPC G4 or G5 processor

    Lets not kid ourselves Motion WAS made for a G4 processor as well as a G5.

    I guess I just should have bought that G5 powerbook to run Motion.

    Besides I wasn't even complaining anyways, and now your making me...urgh
     
  8. JeDiBoYTJ macrumors 6502a

    JeDiBoYTJ

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    #8
    Motion is designed to run 'Optimally" on a G5 Processor... the same way all the other Pro Apps (FCP, DVDSP, SoundTrack) are said to run 'optimally' on a G5. do you need a G5 to run it? of course not! They work great on a G4 (at least for me)

    I have yet to try Motion, but im sure its not 'painfully slow' or anything, and its just as functional on a G4.
     
  9. adamfilip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
    #9
    I must say that Motion is much slower then Final Cut pro HD and Dvd Studio Pro 3 on my system
     
  10. 0 and A ai macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #10

    I'm pretty confident u can't do all the things that they do in the motion demo on a g4 at that quality and framerate.

    Motion Suggested requirements: Dual 2ghz Powermac 2 Gigabytes of ram 64MB video card
     
  11. adamfilip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
  12. jimsowden macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #12
    Thats ironic. When apple started development of motion, they planned on having powerbook g5s out, and making this program g5 only. Since they couldn't get them out, they had to make it work with the G4. Its new pretty, or reccomendable.
     
  13. el greenerino macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    #13
    867Mhz G4 eh? well i have a 900 MHz G3! and that's faster than a 867MHZ G4! boo yah, this program will run with like a racehorse!
     

Share This Page