Motorola Razr V3 Connectivity via USB

Discussion in 'Mac Peripherals' started by E36 Pilot, Jun 18, 2005.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    #1
    Hey guys. I am new here and would love some help with a new Motorola Razr I just picked up.

    I am totally unfamiliar with how it is supposed to interact with my computer. I am home for Fathers day and using an older G4 without Bluetooth. As such, I would like to connect the phone using a USB cable. The goal is to transfter a mp3 ring tone I created using Quicktime Pro.

    When I connect the phone to the G4, the phone does not mount. Do I need some special driver/software? Do I need to use isync? I really have no idea what I'm doing and would love some help.

    Many thanks.

    -Ted
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    psycho bob

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #2
    I sync will allow contacts and dates to be transferred between the machines. The Razr should have come with a CD that contains some utilities for doing what you require if memory serves.

    I've never tried syncing via USB but to transfer from via BT I use the browse device feature that the BT transfer utility has. I don't know what the equivalent for USB would be. Although a very mundane and patronising answer have you looked in the phones manual for help?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    #3
    Thanks Bob,

    I have read the phone's manual. Interestingly, it only discusses transferring via bluetooth and only from the phone to other devices. Also, the phone does not come with software of any kind... Very odd.

    I have bluetooth on my home computer. I may just have to wait until I get home to activate it.

    Anyone have any other info?
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #4
    I hate you by the way.

    Me = about to get a RAZR
    Verizon = calls about a special deal
    Dad = exits the web browser and I dont get a RAZR
    Me = goes to store and gets Moto V710

    Even though qualitywise the V710 is the best phone out there, I WANT A RAZR!
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #5
    I recently tried to mount my nokia by the USB cable that came with it, thinking that it would show up as an external hard drive. It didn't, so that's probably a quirk of the symbian operating system.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    psycho bob

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #6
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    #7
    Thanks for all the info guys. Here's an update...

    I spent a ton of time trying to figure out the deal with the mobile phone tools in the US. Turns out, the software is only compatable with PCs. Since I'm 300 miles from my home computer with bluetooth, I went to the Apple store today to play around with some of their Bluetooth enabled computers. After some time, I was able to get my razr to pair with a G5 imac identical to mine. It doesn't offer the transfer speed of the USB but at least I know my mac and razr will get along!

    I'm going to follow up on the USB issue, but the confirmed bluetooth connectivity is a load off.

    Thanks again.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    #8
    i'm having the same problem

    i got a v3 razr last week (for $99 at best buy!). but it didn't come with any software like you guys in the UK get. i managed to iSync my razr with a G5 (without bluetooth) running OS X.3, using a USB cable, but i was only able to sync contacts from the address book (i didn't try the iCal).

    but what i WANT to do is transfer files from my computer to the phone (homemade ringtones, wallpapers, etc) which i cannot seem to do. i was thinking the phone would mount on the desktop, like a cd. but nope...nada. the Motorola Mobile Phone Tools software appears to be only for Windows, not Mac. Half the reason i bought the razr was so that i can make my own mp3 ringtones, etc.
    information on mac/razr file transfer (either USB or BT) is darned near non-existent. i'm just hoping to find out if anyone has managed to do it.
    please lemme know, via email or on this forum.

    has anyone had any luck with this?

    thanks so much!
    jason
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    Just got my black razor v3 (for FREE!!!) last week. Transfering over BT is simple. Enable BT discovery on the phone, and scan for new devices on the Mac. Pair them up. Then just browse the device from the BT menu in OS X.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #10
    Where'd you get one for free? You're lucky.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Location:
    Loserville
    #11
    DataPilot makes software that you can use to exchange MP3s, photos, etc. between you phone and Mac. I use it with my Motorola V220 and it works great.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Location:
    Celina, TX
    #12
    Please Help!!

    According to this link the RAZR should be able to sync contacts and calandars, but I can only get the contacts. When I select the "Calandars" button in iSync it says (see image below) and when I open iCal then click the tab again, it still doesn't work. And the Help Viewer says that if you have iTunes 4.8 or later, to use that to sync, what is the deal? :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  13. hob
    macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    Nah, we're british! :D

    American cellphone operators seem to be atrocious - cost, lack of deals, crappy handsets... It's the only thing I'd say britain is ahead of america on, technology-wise...

    I've had the V3 Razr for about 3 months, it looks nice, but it's the worst phone I've ever owned! My old Sony Ericsson worked a lot better with OS X - I could send text messages from the address book!
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #14
    You can get a RAZR for free through tigerdirect.com and cingular. At least you used to be able to. They might have stopped their deal.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    #15
    works for me too

    yeah, i got my Razr like a week ago (99 at best buy too!). got home and synched it up to my Powerbook no problem. Edited my mp3s to make custom ring tones and transfered them wirelessly over to my phone no problem. Browse device in your bluetooth menu on the finder bar, connect to your phone and you should see folders and stuff, you just upload you mp3 to the music folder.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    #16
    yeah, but see, i don't have a bluetooth mac! it's an older G4 with no bluetooth. i have a mini-USB cable, which i used, and can indeed get the address book contacts synced easily...but there's no icon mounted on the hard drive or anything that would allow me to transfer files like mp3s or pictures. my question is, how do i transfer files to my Razr via a USB cable? i'll check out that link above. thanks for that!
    a coworker of mine suggested i upload the files i want up to an ftp site and then type in the url on my phone and download them that way, but that seems kinda laborious.
    if i got one of those USB bluetooth adapters, do you think that might make it work? i'd still need to get the bluetooth software, wouldn't I? there's no bluetooth settings or anything on my system preferences panel...
     
  17. macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #17
    I have been considering that software and cable kit, for a moto v60s. what is the good and bad? can you tell me more? did it work with 10.3 and 10.4? I am very curious!
    Thanks.
     
  18. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #18
    If you go contract (as opposed to pay as you go) you get pretty much your pick of any handset for free from any of the operators :cool: :D
     
  19. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #19
    lol, quality wise? blah. Verizon has a hard time making phones that aren't crippled out of the wazzu. You have to "hack" iSync just to be able to transfer contacts over. And forget about sending pictures and mp3s to the phone. Verizon disabled the OBEX therefore you must pay Verizon to store the song or picture onto their servers then download it to your computer from the interweb. I swear, if I wasn't hurting for money I'd have gotten off the plan with the rest of the family and go Cingular.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    #20
    Yes, it would work for sure as long as you get one supported by Apple (all the name brand ones are).

    You already have all the software you'll need (OS X).
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    #21
    I can sync my ical with my razor and transfer files I can even sync from my contact to my phone but how do I sync from my phone contacts to my mac?
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    #22
    Is this with BT or USB?

    I think using iSync may just be one-way with the V3, from the computer to the phone. Make a test contact on the phone and then run a sync.

    I personally use an app called OnSync to sync my contacts between my phone and computer; it goes both ways and has tons of options and ways of recording to the phone and Adress Book, or Entourage or whatever you choose. Right now it requires a USB cable to be used with the V3, but they are standard easy-to-find cables. (Bluetooth support for the V3 is coming)
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    #23
    I'm using BT. Any other programs that work with BT for syncing?
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    #24
    Trying to connect the razr with my iMac G5 using VPC can anyone help, its not working :(

    installed the phone tools and all
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    psycho bob

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #25
    Well all I can suggest is that you make sure BT is turned on on the RAZR and that it is discoverable, this is only done 30 seconds at a time manually (see manual or visit the connections preference pain on the RAZR which is under options or something similar then select bluetooth and navigate from there). Use the BT setup assistant on the mac to pair with the phone then use the BT transfer wizard to send data back and forth. You may have to keep making the phone discoverabe if it isn't automatically seen by the mac.
     

Share This Page