Mount external HD via connect to server

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by KJensen, Jan 1, 2006.

  1. KJensen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #1
    Hi there

    I have two macs: G4 desktop and a G3 powerbook, both running OS X 10.3.9. I have a LaCie Firewire external hard drive connected to the G3 powerbook.

    Trying to use Connect to Server to access the external hard drive from the G4. Not having any luck.

    I can network the 2 computers no problem, but the external hard drive does not appear as an option to mount (from what I can tell, no external devices are available to mount, only internal...)

    Any ideas?
     
  2. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #2
    Did this last night with my computers and an external connected to the iMac. Turned Airport on, created a network, turned on sharing files in system preferences, connected to my newly created network with my PB and clicked on network under a finder window and there was my external HD waiting to be exploited. (took ~40 min to transfer 6 GB) Good luck
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    How are you logging on to the machine?
    If you are logging on with the owner;s name and password, that's one thing - you 'should' be able to see anything that is mounted on the desktop of the other.

    If however you are connecting as a different user or a guest, chances are you have to explicitly share each volume or folder that you want to be visible.

    Just going by memory here -- perhaps someone can check my accuracy on this.
     
  4. KJensen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #4
    Hmm - I don't think I have the ability to create an Airport network. Under System Profiler, on the Airport Card tab, says "No Information".
     
  5. KJensen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #5
    I'm logging on as the owner (i.e., Registered User). All the File Sharing options are turned on.

    The FireWire drive is Macintosh PC Exchange format, if that makes any difference
     
  6. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #6
    Click on the airport icon in the menu bar and there should be a "Create Network..." option
     

    Attached Files:

  7. KJensen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #7
    Don't see an Airport icon. I'm pretty sure I don't have an Airport card on either machine. The g4's a Yikes, so it's pretty old
     
  8. stguitar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #8
    did you guys ever get this resolved?

    i have a g5 desktop and a new mac book pro and i would like to do this exact same thing. i do not have an airport, but i do have the airport card in my laptop. the desktop is connected via ethernet to a standard wireless router.

    i can mount every drive in that computer except the external.

    any ideas?
     

Share This Page