Mount idisk with xp

Discussion in 'Apple Music, iCloud and Apple Services' started by docdailey, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #1
    I have searched around for this but I can't find anything pertaining specifically to mobileme and idisk mounting from xp. With .mac the way I understand it is you had to download the iDisk Utility for Windows XP and then you could mount the idisk. Is it the same for mobileme idisk. If so how do I find that utility?

    Bill
     
  2. macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #2
    i think you just access the iDisk from within your browser.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #3
    I know that is an option but I wanted it to show up as a mounted disk...makes it nice for accessing things.

    Bill
     
  4. macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #4
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #5
    You can mount it :)

    http://www.apple.com/mobileme/tutorials/#idisk-windows

    Wait and let the video tutorial load and watch it. It shows vista, but the steps are the same for XP ... the only difference being, in XP once you've opened My Computer Click the "Tools" menu and choose "Map Network Drive" there.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #6
    Interesting. I couldn't get it to work because i was using idisk.me.com/username instead of idisk.mac.com/username.

    odd that it would still be ".mac"

    Either way I got it working...thanks. By the way...it is very very snappy this way...yeeeehawww!

    Bill
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Will not log in

    I have followed the information in this thread that look quite straight forward.

    But my login and password is rejected and returns with the prompt of

    idisk.mac.com/username
    I have tried entering the password in again but it still gets rejected.

    The only difference I can see is that I have a full stop in my user name for example user.name.

    I am also using this on my Macbook Pro using Parallel. I can see my iDisk under OS X but also want to set it up under XP. I can see the iDisk using my Browser in XP and I have set up Mobileme correctly.

    Any thoughts?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #8
    make sure to hit the little thingy in xp that says login using different username when you go to mount it
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Many thanks. Worked a treat.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    wackymacky

    #10
    The other posibility is to set it up as a newtork dive or newtwork place with the address:

    http://idisk.mac.com/username

    This acts like a mounted disk.

    I did it this way as I can access it by loging in to any PC at work.

    If functions much better than using the web to access it.

    By the way you can also set up an individual folder in idisk this way.

    eg. setup a network place witht the location:

    http://idisk.mac.com/username/Public

    (this will propmt you for the username public and password if set)

    and you will add a folder to your "My Newtork" places that just acts like any other folder in your PC.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    #11
    Guys,

    I have followed the steps that apple posted on for mapping the idisk as a network drive, but every time that I restart my computer it disconnects and gives me an error.

    I have tried this mounting as http://idisk.mac.com/username and http://idisk.me.com/username, with no luck at restart.

    .....and yes, I check the "reconnect at login," and I manually added my username and password under,"login using different name."

    Any suggestions? I have tried this on all my windows boxes, with no restart luck.
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    wackymacky

    #12
    Sorry, I'm primarily a mac person so windows networking isn't my thing.

    There are some comments on the Apple help page in iDisk about issues with proxies etc. within LAN environments.

    Mine just went fine from go, sorry.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #13
    I get disconnected when I restart too.
     
  14. macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #14
    Thanks guys, for posting this information. I was under the impression that you could only map iDisk files under Vista. I just did it under XP and it is working great. I just backed up a whole bunch files to iDisk. This was one of my main purposes for joining .Me - to get a good offsite backup of my most important files. Being able to map it as a drive, makes copying so much easier.
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #15
    Thanks all for the info.

    Looks like this may be a great way to share files between Bootcamp and the Mac OS partition, by using MobileMe iDisk like a USB thumb drive.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    left coast, US
    #16
    Note that the use of "http" means that all of your information is sent/received unencrypted. This is probably not a big deal if you're doing this from home, but it's a security issue if you access idisk using, for example, a public wifi point.

    You need to use "https" to be secure, but winxp doesn't support it, although vista does. (I don't know about OS X, but I assume it does.) XP users can use stunnel to access idisk via https, but it's not simple to configure, and there are issues.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    wackymacky

    #17
    When ever I try to use https I get shifted to http whatever platform I try it on
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #18
    Apple don't HTTPS the MobileMe web apps, what makes you think they'll HTTPS the iDisk where GBs are being transferred (HTTPS means greater bandwith requirements and server load)?
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    left coast, US
    #19
    Uh, because it happens to work?

    iDisk https works under vista, and it works under xp if you use stunnel (and, yes, I have verified both of these with a lan sniffer). I assume that it can also work under OS X, being OS X, but I don't have a mac, alas.

    Yeah, it blows that the web interfaces are insecure, but syncing appears to be secure, and iDisk can be, too.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    #20
    Found this in Apple forums

    1. Start -> Run
    2. Type "cmd" then hit enter.
    3. Copy and paste the following into the command prompt:

    net use * \\idisk.mac.com\yourusername * /user:yourusername

    replace yourusername with your actual MobileMe user name.

    4. It will prompt you for a password, enter it in.
    5. Wait about 15-20 seconds, maybe more.
    6. It will confirm that your iDisk has been mounted and it will tell you the drive letter.
    7. You can now access you iDisk the same way the iDisk Windows XP Utility would.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #21
    This works and connects the drive. BUT when I restart the computer (Parallels on an iMac) the drive does not reconnect. It asks for the password again but comes up with the following error

    "An error occurred while reconnecting Y: to http:\\idisk.mac.com\username
    Web Client Network: The network path has not been found.
    This connection has not been restored."

    This error has also been happening with the other options used in this thread. Running "net use" shows that the table includes the correct reference for the drive (for reconnection) and the drive is shown in "My Computer" after the reboot but as Disconnected.

    Result from "net use" before and after restart
    Status Unavailable
    Local Y:
    Remote \\idisk.mac.com\username
    Network Web Client Network

    Also tried it with http: before the idisk address. that worked but a restart gave the same result.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    wackymacky

    #22
    This is all very bizzare!

    This is all very bizzare!

    As you can see from my post above I had it working with out any problem (first try!!) with http://idisk.mac.com/username.

    Well, turned off my computer for the weekend, then when I came to work today it is no longer working!

    Won't mount, won't do a damn thing!

    Is it there servers are over-loaded or sominthing. This is my first problem with Mobileme and I am not impressed!
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    wackymacky

    #23
    and now it will let me newtork address the public folder, but not the main folder. ummmm!

    but now the location is:

    "http://public.me.com/username/" that contains all the public folder stuff PLUS a folder called "http://idisk.mac.com/username-Public" that contains another copy of everything
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    #24
    I am really surprised that there are only a few of us that are vista/xp users that are interested in mapping our iDisk drives. Someone has got to have had some success with the issue of the drive not reconnecting after a reboot.
     
  25. macrumors 68020

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #25
    I am running Vista and I have the same problem. You do not have to re-boot to cause the problem. You can simply logoff and then logon and it will not re-connect.

    I was wondering if it has something to do with using special login credentials. Maybe it loses them. I have not tried it but I wonder if your Windows Login/Password was the same as idisk userid/password would it work without having to use the special credentials. Too lazy to try it.

    Also, I started using HTTPS and it is working fine (other then the problem with re-connect).
     

Share This Page