Mountain Lion in Parallels?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by cambookpro, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. macrumors 601

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Is it possible to use ML in Parallels, and more importantly, has anyone tried it?
    I've heard reports that the cursor is jerky and it's generally quite slow.

    What's the installation process like?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #2
    According to parallel's forums you can. I don't have the link but google it.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #3
    It installed fine on PD7, but initially I couldn't get Parallels Tools to install. I then installed PD7 within PD7 (!) by selecting Install Parallel Tools from the menu and clicking on the 'Install Parallels' from the virtual CD in Finder.
    Now, it is at my normal monitor res and most things seem to work OK, but a bit sluggishly with cursor a little jerky at times.
    Things noted so far:
    Youtube videos - no video or sound
    Trackpad not recognised in Sys Prefs, so most gestures don't work
    Launchpad takes AGES to load. I thought it had frozen!
    Apart from that, it's working OK, but I've only been on for around an hour.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 601

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    When installing it, you select Macintosh HD (or whatever you've named the internal HD) as the destination, right?
    It's inside a VM so I don't see a problem, just want to double check.
    Don't want to install it as my main OS yet :p
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #5
    I didn't go to the lengths you did to get Parallels Tools to install but otherwise I've had similar experiences as you. It's quite sluggish, sometimes you get double cursors (as though the Mountain Lion cursor is lagging behind), and it won't snap to your full screen resolution. It wants to stay at a very minimal resolution, something like 800x600, I haven't checked to see what it actually is.

    I only installed it in Parallels on my home machine to see if I could get the AirPlay mirroring working with my AppleTV. It won't find your AppleTV if you have it set to share a network with your host Mac however. Once I was able to get it to locate the AppleTV it would appear the AirPlay functionality isn't built in the beta yet. Oh well.

    As for Mountain Lion running on my 2011 iMac at work it's been a dream so far. There are certainly bugs (try going to Finder and clicking "Go" from the menu bar, crashes 100% of the time) but overall I've been very pleased. They desperately need to fix their dual-monitor support with fullscreen apps though.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #6
    Doesn't sound like you've got Tools installed then. Mine runs @ 2560 x 1440 in Parallels.

    Also, my Finder doesn't crash when I select 'Go' from the menu.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 601

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    ^^^

    Just to double check?


    So hopefully it's at least useable with Parallel Tools installed? Cool. Will try tonight :D

    ----------

    Is that on a virtual machine or on a partition/external HD?
     
  8. cambookpro, Feb 17, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 601

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Ok so I've installed ML inside PD7.

    Installed Parallels Tools as well, this seemed to make the cursor less 'laggy' and meant I could increase the screen res from some low one is was set at.

    I'm on a MacBook Pro, however it doesn't recognise a trackpad being there, or a magic mouse, just a standard mouse. The trackpad works, but you can't do any gestures.

    Mine seems to crash when opening Launchpad, however I'll put that down to ML being a beta. Apart from that, notes and reminders look great, so does notification centre but I've yet to have any notifictaions!
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #9
    I've got Parallels running 10.8 as well. I jumped through the same hoops as the other poster and got Tools installed (its not that hard to figure out). My biggest issue is the lack of trackpad support. I went as far as having my main OS release the USB Bluetooth, in hopes that the guest OS would be able to use it. It kind of worked as I can use the trackpad in 10.8 with gestures, I just can't see the mouse pointer! If anyone figures that one out, please post!

    Of course, all wireless peripherals cease to work on the main OS which can be an issue. Remember Cmd + Control + F moves you from full screen to windowed. If you get stuck drag your cursor to the top left corner and shut down the virtual machine, give it 10 seconds or so and your Bluetooth will restore to the actual machine.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 601

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    Let us know if you find any fixes! The trackpad thing is pretty annoying.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #11
    It's the only OS on the internal drive. It's an iMac used strictly for testing, it gets reloaded several times a week typically.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    kemo

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    /Users/kemo
    #12
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    #13
    Wow, these guys are saying it won't install except in 32 bit mode, and then they are moving kernel files around to make it work.

    I guess I got lucky as 10.8 installed in a VM just fine. Just my pesky trackpad/bluetooth issue, but everything else is working fine.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 601

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    I think they're talking about Parallels on Mountain Lion, rather than ML just running as a guest OS.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    kemo

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    /Users/kemo
    #15
    Yea, that's exactly what they are talking about.

    ----------

    The even get Network working in VM and yea, it just worked in 32 bit mode for now as a workaround.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #16
    No, that's not what they are talking about. That thread is about PD7 running in ML. This thread is about running ML in PD7.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    kemo

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    /Users/kemo
    #17
    My BAD, sorry. I was quoting


    but just hit the wrong one..
     

Share This Page