mounting network drive at startup

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by buckuxc, Jan 17, 2004.

  1. buckuxc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #1
    I'm a student on a university network. Since Macs don't automatically mount network drives like I'm used to with Windows, I'd like to set up my Powerbook to mount my student space when I startup. What I have been doing is just Connect to Server and specifying it and then dragging the icon to my Dock. I'd like to just have it appear on my desktop everytime I login. Is there an applescript for this? or an easy way to make one? I'm new to AppleScript as well. Thanks

    sps
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    You can drag and drop the icon of the mounted volume in your System Prefs - Accounts - "Statup Items"-tab.
     
  3. buckuxc thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    #3
    so I got a little excited

    ...and added like 4 folders/apps to the startup tab: my mounted student server space, Konfabulator, xPad, and iCal. I am running a 12" PB 1Ghz w/ 256MB of RAM (that will be upgraded in the near future). Will having that many startup items slow my computer down? I have a million and a half newbie questions, but I really want to know the answers. One of these days I can then dish out answers.

    sps
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    It will mean your Mac takes slightly longer to be usable after logging in while it starts everything up. I have Mail, iCal, iChat, & WeatherPop start when I login, it just means I wait a couple seconds before I start to do anything. You should be fine...oh, but get that extra RAM ASAP, 256Mb doesn't cut it, and you wont be getting the best out of your PB ;)
     
  5. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #5
    I must be missing something, I don't see a Startup Items tab under Accounts. Are we talking about Login Items?:confused:
     
  6. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    In 10.3 you will find the "Startup Items" under "Accounts"

    I think you are referring to 10.2? I think it was called "Login Items" in Jag.
     
  7. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #7
    Yep, me Jag, you Panther.

    Man, I think we will have to start specifying the OS version in any questions/replies :D
     

Share This Page