Moving CS5 Applications to another folder?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by macdot, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    314
    #1
    Quick CS5 question... can I move all of the apps into a different folder? Not a fan of having a dozen Adobe application folders at the top of my main Applications folder.
     
  2. macrumors G5

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    14,332
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    I recently did that and it seemed to work, but I returned to status quo, as some applications might get confused, if they are not in the Applications folder.

    But I get what you mean, Adobe takes up quite a lot of visual real estate for their applications.

    Why don't they have one Adobe folder where all that stuff goes into?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Not tried it, but I think it may cause problems with Auto-update (or whatever the Adobe updater is called now), as it may expect to find apps in the default location.

    And, ironically, there is a folder within my Applications folder just called "Adobe", but it currently just contains Adobe Help, AdobePatchFiles and Flash Player.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    314
    #4
    It wouldn't be that hard for them to put everything in that Adobe folder, no?

    (Ironically enough, this is the opposite problem I have with iWork installing into a folder instead of straight into the Applications folder)
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    #5
    Choose different on install

    Unfortunately, reinstalling is the best option for this. I moved my CS3 apps into the Adobe folder and got the "application has moved" error every time I opened an app, but when I installed CS6 on my laptop, I remembered to choose a different folder and it worked fine.
     

Share This Page