Moving from one iMac to another...iMac...

Discussion in 'OS X' started by hakr, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Western shore, Chesapeake Bay. Maryland
    #1
    I have an iMac 3.06Ghz and once the "problems" with the new I7 iMacs are fixed, I plan to buy one.

    Will there be a way to simply and gracefully move my applications from the old iMac to the new iMac, or will I have to reinstall everything the old fashioned way, from scratch?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    There are a few ways. One using an ethernet cable to connect the two and another is Time Machine.

    The cable method involves starting your new iMac and when it asks if you want to transfer information just tell it to do so from another Mac and it should find the ethernet connection. It will take some time, depending on the amount of information, and both iMacs will be unusable at the time but this is the fastest way in my experience.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    MatLane

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #3
    I agree with this user. The fastest way also.


    Also if you have a time machine backup of the other Mac you can just restore that on the new mac

    Good step by step guides on Apples website about Time Machine
    :apple: Mat L
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Western shore, Chesapeake Bay. Maryland
    #4

    I don't use Time Machine...I use superduper. I don't mind hooking the machines together, if that really works...the "transfer via cable" method, I hope, "reconstructs" the older machine onto the newer machine?

    That would be terrific. Does everything end up working the way it should?
    Forgive my naivete on this...I'm just trying to avoid a massive headache followed by lots of time reinstalling everything.

    Standard ethernet cable ?
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #5
    I'm sorry I've made a mistake. Connecting FIREWIRE between the two is the only direct-wire method.

    Connecting your new iMac to the same router that your old one is using will put them on the same network, thus you can use the Migration Assistant via the network. I recommend wiring both iMacs rather than using any WiFi ;)

    Apple Support

    The first time you start the new iMac it will guide you to the option to transfer files. At that point you will select From Another Mac and select the Network option.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Western shore, Chesapeake Bay. Maryland
    #6
    Might someone point me to the precise Time Machine documentation on the Apple site that explains how to back up my current iMac so that the backup can be "restored" to a new iMac?

    I might be selling my old iMac before the new one arrives...

    I have not used Time Machine before...I can back it up to a spare Lacie exterior hard drive I have that currently is connected to my iMac via firewire.

    Thanks
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #7
    If your external drive is large enough to back up alllll of the files on the system, sure.

    Time Machine Basics
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Western shore, Chesapeake Bay. Maryland
    #8
    Thanks...doing my first TM backup now... it can't be this easy... :D
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area - Fremont
    #9
    I am not a time machine user. I use sata external drives in a sata/usb dirve dock and make bootable clone copies. If I were in your position, I would make a clone copy of the your current machine, make a clone copy of the new machine (test boot to both from the original machine just as a check). Then on the new machine with the external drive clone copy of the old machine mounted I would use Migration Assistant.

    Migration Assistant gives you choices of what you want to move over. In this case where you have clones of the originals, you can experiment between moving only applications, user accounts, and data.

    If you do not already have them, go download SuperDuper and Carbon Copy Cloner; both are user friendly donation ware.

    And some are going to pick at using USB instead of firewire. My method is cheap and nearly fool proof.

    neil
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #10
    I did mine using an external hard drive and Time Machine, worked a treat and only took 30 mins
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    tunerX

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #11
    I used time machine as well. During the initial setup of my i7 it asked where I wanted to get files from. I selected TM and was able to choose what I wanted to restore.

    Quick and painless.
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #12
    Well...it's Apple :eek:
     
  13. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #13
    Apple Migration Assistant.

    Apple actually invests money into usability which saves user time and headache (unlike windows).
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #14
    Apple invests in impressing me every step of the way

    I invest in opting for Apple products whenever I can

    I'm very strong-feeling when it comes to brand/company pride but at the same time I'm reasonable and unbiased. Apple and Best Buy and Intel are on the top of my list of people that just don't let down ;)
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    #15
    I believe you can actually connect both directly via ethernet as well.
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #16
    That's what I thought but it doesn't mention it anywhere on Apple's site =\
     

Share This Page