Moving info between machines

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cmm, May 17, 2006.

  1. cmm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #1
    I bought a new machine. If I move my entire home folder, will it save all my preferences like it does in FreeBSD? This includes, for example, my AdiumX logs because I know they are located in ~/Library/Application Support/Adium 2.0/Users/Default/Logs/[account]

    Also, if true, what do I need to do when I connect to that server. Just go to /Users and move the users home folder?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Yes, moving your home folder will restore your preferences and settings on a new machine. Apple includes a program call "Migration Assistant" in your Utilities folder in Applications to do this painlessly.

    http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/setup/
     
  3. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Just use the /Applications/Utilities/Migration Assistant.app... that's what it's for.

    EDIT: Damnit.. see what happens when you open as a tab and then don't respond for a while? You get beat. :)
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  6. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #6
    I need to see how far off our posts were...any way to see the seconds? I feel like I was Justin Gatlin'd!
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    I try to stay under one minute.
     
  8. cmm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #8
    It tells me I have to do it in firewire?

    Also, can I pick what I want to move and what I want to stay?
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    You'll have to use FireWire. (Hopefully this is between Macs.) You can pick to just import your user folder, account, and settings. You can additionally transfer applications. It'll check which version is more recent and not transfer an older version of it. You don't have to transfer applications though. In my opinion it's just better to move your home directory and start from there.
     
  10. cmm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #10
    Well, I don't have a firewire wire. I thought I could do this with my network 10/100 cables. :/
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    You can use a ethernet cable as well between the Macs. It just won't be a nice automated process.
     
  12. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    The firewire wire (as you called it) is pretty inexpensive and definitely worth the money you spend on it.
     
  13. cmm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #13
    By connecting in finder to another machine and transfering the home folder? If I did get a firewire cable, would I have to reenter registration numbers for apps with the migration assistant?
     
  14. cmm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #14
    Yeah, I thought they were 30+. My local staples store has one for ten bucks; I'll just get that.
     
  15. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #15
    I've never had to re-enter the reg numbers.. that I can remember.
     
  16. cmm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    You can get a decent FireWire for $6 plus shipping off of NewEgg.
     
  18. cmm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #18
    I need it ASAP, so I'll spend the extra money at Staples.
     
  19. cmm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich

Share This Page