Moving Items from Network Volumes into the Trash?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Screamingbeaver, May 21, 2003.

  1. Screamingbeaver macrumors member

    Aug 31, 2001
    St. Paul, MN
    Hello, at work we just got a new machine (the first to run OSX) When I've got volumes mounted from our server (running OS9, AppleShare IP) Whenever I want to put something in the trash from a network volume, I get an alert that states that it will be deleted immediately. How to I allow me to just move it to the trash? I feel kinda dumb askin', But I don't get it. Is it something with the permissions allowed that an individual user?

    Thanks for any help.

  2. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus


    Jan 2, 2001
    Metairie, LA
    As far as I know, u don't.

    Of course, there's lots to X I don't know, so maybe there is a way to hack a permission to do something like this.
  3. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3


    Feb 7, 2002
    i'm pretty sure that's how it is with any system... at least here on the nt's on a network.. when you delete it, it's gone.... no recycle bin involved.... someone smarter than myself and eye will shed some more light on it though i'm sure.

Share This Page