Mozilla 1.0 (final) released

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Rower_CPU, Jun 5, 2002.

  1. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    Well, it has been released but their servers are being swamped right now...

    What are the impressions so far for those who have it?
     
  2. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    Not ever having used it, what benefits does it have over other browsers? What are its drawbacks?
     
  3. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    In case you don'y already know, Mozilla is the basis for Netscape.

    A pure Mozilla browser doesn't have all the extraneous AOL stuff that Netscape does.

    It has tabbed browsing, Composer...more things I'm not familiar with.

    I'm sure some others here, like 'Lemon, could elaborate more.
     
  4. Classic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    #4
    Tabbed Browsing?

    Does Mozilla have tabbed browsing? I thought that was Opera.

    I'm new with Mozilla, have downloaded from RC1 until this version, but I haven't seen tabbed browsing. Maybe I'm missing something.

    Anyone care to explain?

    Thanks.
     
  5. PCUser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    #5
    Mozilla has tabbed browsing (I'm using it right now) and has had it for several versions.

    To enable tabbed browsing, open the Preferences (under the Edit menu). Click on the "Tabbed Browsing" option, and select the first option in the second section box. Click "OK"... now, when you want to open something in a tab, right-click on the link and select "open in new tab"...

    Mozilla has a mail client, an HTML editor, a web browser, and some other stuff. You can choose which components to install (I only install the browser).
     
  6. Classic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    #6
    Cool. Thanks!

    Thanks Friendly Neighborhood PCUser...

    I didn't know how to do that!

    Pretty cool feature.

    On a side note, you know how you can cmd+tab between programs? On a PC, you can alt+tab between windows, not just programs. So, if you have multiple browser windows open, you can alt+tab over to the one you want.

    However, in OS X, you can only cmd+tab between the programs, and then you have to move any windows out of the way to get to the one you want. Is there a way around this?

    And finally, a last gripe about OS X is that in in OS 9, if you had a finder window open, and you were working in another program, you could simply click on the desktop, and your finder would become active and that window would move forward. However, with OS X, if you are working in a program and there is a finder window open in the background, simply clicking the desktop will switch to the Finder, but your Finder windows will remain in the background. Am I the only one that misses that? Is there a way to click on the desktop and have your Finder windows move forward?

    Thanks - sorry for the topic change...
     
  7. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #7
    click a dock icon to bring that app and all its windows to the front (including the finder)

    option click a dock icon to bring that application and all its windows to the front and hide the current application.

    also there are various hack to bring back os9 behavior
     
  8. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #8
    I just finished downloading Mozilla 1.0 and installed a pinball theme for the interface...not too bad. There are still a few problems that I have been experiencing, mostly scrolling:
    (1) Sometimes I scroll from the bottom of a page to the top, but when I click off the scroll bar the scroll bar still goes where the mouse goes. This has been a problem since Netscape 6.
    (2) Sometimes when I click/hold above the scroll bar in a medium or large document the scroll bar does not continue moving up. This is never the case when scrolling down.
    (3) The application still takes a while to load up...however, IMO, you get a lot of surfing speed in return.

    Overall I think that this has been improved big time since RC2, although this is my first hour of using the final version of Mozilla. I would expect updates to correct these minor problems soon, if not, later. And except for OmniWeb being my backup browser and Netscape being the primary browser I do not see the need for another browser switch again.
    __________________

    Fear the King.
     
  9. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #9
    KC i think problems 1 and 2 are specific to you. ive NEVER noticed this in any build of mozilla and can not recreate it now. sounds like your moouse is sticking down to me. have you checked bugzilla to see if this is unique to you?
     
  10. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #10
    I just checked the known bugs portion of Mozilla and nothing was mentioned in relation to my problem. And I do not see how the mouse is sticking, since I just gave it a quick, dry wiping and the same error occured. I am not sure about this, but this error may have occured in plain old OS 9 as well, but I can't remember.
    __________________

    Fear the King.
     
  11. jaykk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Location:
    CA
    #11
    i Just downloaded Mozilla 1.0 and Silk..Great combo

    I tried different browsers in Os X and finally ended up with just two..one matured to 1.0 and other one is still a work in progress. Mozilla and Chimera both promises a great competition to IE.
    Did anyone tried Silk yet? You will get Quartz text rendering and smoothing for Mozilla now..Sweet..
    http://www.unsanity.com/haxies/silk/
     
  12. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #12
    I have mozilla but I am using IE ans silk
    it looks awesome, and its better than chimera
     
  13. szark macrumors 68030

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #13
    I have actually experienced this problem too. I have definitely seen it on the PC version, not sure if I encountered it on the Mac version. It doesn't happen very often, though (for me).

    Also, have not yet seen this happen in the final build, but I've only been using it for 30 minutes...
     
  14. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #14
    Oh... wow. I'm the biggest OW fan there is, but I seriously like this browser! FAST!

    I've been using it for about an hour, and I have a list of a few things that I'd change:
    • I want a skin that looks like OW! Can anyone help me with that?
    • I want my buttons, pull down menus etc to be aqua, not all windoze and boxy :(
    • WHITE background to text boxes, please! Not grey...
    • Piss that damned 'thinking' mouse off! Sheesh... how ugly? How annoying?
    Pretty minor, really, but all UI issues I have to look at for hours a day, so even htought they're all little, they're very annoying for me.
     
  15. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #15
    no ow skins that i know of, but here are a couple good osx looking ones:

    chimera-like skin

    pinstripe skin

    since both of those use osx widgets it speeds up the UI a lot.
     
  16. Inhale420 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    #16
    when i upgraded to os x a couple of weeks ago at work, i decided to use mozilla + it's email app. it's not as fast a chimera, but overall i think it's the best browser - and it's email client is not bad either.
     
  17. Inhale420 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    #17
    i agree, as far a fitting in with os x design, the developers have work to do. i'm using the greymodern theme and it works well with the graphite os x scheme. i'm also using an app called silk:

    http://www.versiontracker.com/moreinfo.fcgi?id=15012&db=macos

    this allows quartz text rendering in carbon apps like mozilla.

    try it out.
     
  18. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #18
    :) i like how everyone and their mother has to mention silk. but thats cool.

    but inhale while you're at it check out the chimera skin and pinstripe skins. linked to right above your post. all aqua.


    o guys i just discovered this great new app that apparently only i know about! its called silk and it enables AA in carbon apps... ok im mean. im just having fun. dont take it seriously.
     

Share This Page