MP4Tools & 'overhead compression'

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by JMEANS, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #1
    Dragged an MKV file H.264 into MP4Tools and got the 'may have overhead compression' pop up then prompted to proceed to fix. Anybody have this happen before and know what 'overhead compression' means in a file? Reason I ask is after it 'fixed' the issue it then could proceed to the remux file stage.
    However the end result was an unplayable mp4... Confused to say the least. Any info would be great- Jim
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #2
    Try converting to mp4/m4v before using mp4tools. (Use handbrake) I'm pretty sure mp4tools needs a mp4/m4v file (hence the name). Not a mkv file.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #3
    Thanks, but I use HB often and do not want to transcode on this file. I have success doing this but never got the pop- up before and wondered if anyone knew why. Thanks though
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #4
    Incorrect. mp4tools is used to convert mkv to mp4.

    I know some mkv's use head compression and certain media players do not like it (WDTV, I think is the main one). But I don't think the aTV has any problem with header compression, so try it again, ignoring the message (if possible).
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #5
    Then there's hope! Thanks mic j I will try and report back tomorrow!
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #6
    Alright thanks for clarification. I honestly don't use mp4tools much, forgot it was a remuxer. Good luck OP.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #7
    Worked like a charm with by NOT allowing MP4Tools DEcompressioning 'mic j' so thanks again for your great intel - Jim
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #8
    Glad to help. By the way, are you using version 3.2.2?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    #9
    Yes thanks to you on a previous matter ! You rock man!
     

Share This Page