MS Exchange experts out there?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by mrgreen4242, Feb 23, 2006.

1. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

mrgreen4242

Any of you guys MS Exchange experts? I'm a complete newb when it comes to Exchange, but I am setting up a server for my smallish non-profit employer. We happened to have a license for 5.5 from a BackOffice purchase (we needed SQL Server way back then and got this whole thing), and so here I am.

I have the server all set up, we are using the calendaring features right now, everyone is able to connect to the server. I am getting ready to set it up as an email server as well, and have our MX record transfered to our local server (connected to a fractional T1 line - bandwidth is enough and downtime not an issue).

I've read the books, looked at the wizards and it looks like I just need to setup the ICS and then have our MX record moved... But since I am going to be moving a bunch of exisiting email address over I can't make any mistakes.

The ICS wizard talks about setting up the DNS records and whatnot BEFORE you run the wizard... this is the part that I am stuck at... it doesn't make sense. I'd want the Exchange server ready to take mail over SMTP before I moved any DNS entries to it, so no email gets lost or bounced.

If I set up the ICS connector first and then change the MX record to point at our server will I cause any problems?

Thanks for any help,
    Rob

2. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

Ah 5.5, how quaint. ;) [2K and 2K3 are much more pleasant in terms of their SMTP handling].

The way I've usually handled this is using secondary MX entries or multiple equal priorit MX entries. I presume you will have a way of retreiving mail from the server that is currently handling the mail, right?

B

3. mrgreen4242 thread starter macrumors 601

mrgreen4242

Hehe, ya 5.5... we're a non-profit, so we're always short on fund. :p We do have access to the current email server, it's from our (soon to be former) ISP.