MS Office 2004

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by P40L VX, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. P40L VX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I am in the process of building my new MBP with fresh installs of my applications I had on my old power book.

    I have installed MS office standard 2004 but I am getting various errors I never received on my old power book...?

    For example,

    1. The software update on for MS wont work, it just freezes.
    2. When I open word or excel etc I get the following error "an unexpected error occurred while trying to load the Microsoft Framework"
    3. When I open Entourage I get the following error message "The identity cannot be opened with this version of entourage"

    Has anyone got any idea what's going on...? :confused: Is there a patch to make Office 2004 work on the MBPs....?

    Any help would be greatly appreciate,

    Paul.
     
  2. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #2
    That sounds very odd. I'd probably trash Office and reinstall it again.
     
  3. P40L VX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #3
    Did that with no positive outcome the 2nd time round.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    I had some of the symptons you describe when i moved the "applications" outside of the Microsoft Office folder that it autocreated on install.
     
  5. P40L VX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #5
    Just tried to re-install Adobe CS and that went tits up....:mad:

    Am now re-building the mac and I will do a transfer from my old G4 via setup.

    I knew I should have stuck with the old power book. :confused:
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    One thought it seems like Rosetta is screwed up as both the sets of applications you mentioned are PPC, do you have any themes such as UNO or shapeshifter installed, i had at one point and they screwed up rosetta. Removed them and rosetta worked perfectly.


    Have you ever run monolingual?
     
  7. smueboy macrumors 6502a

    smueboy

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Oz
    #7
    I had the same thing with Office on my MBP - i deleted everything office-related (including the user data and preferences folders). I then re-installed it, and immediately ran the autoupdate (before opening the programs) and after that it worked. I think the framework library got corrupted.
    Can't wait for Office 2008.
     
  8. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #8
    I hear you there, 2004 is a POS.
     
  9. P40L VX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #9
    My MBP is fresh out of the box today, that's why I am so annoyed...
     
  10. smueboy macrumors 6502a

    smueboy

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Oz
    #10
    I used to think 2004 was good when i was using it on my PB, but it keeps giving me the s$%ts on my intel machine.

    I'm also waiting to see iWork 07, it'd be nice to not have to use Office at all (i really only use Word and Powerpoint).
     
  11. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #11
    Excel is awful under Rosetta, some actions just cause Excel to instantly quit. I wouldn't mind if I could use OpenOffice, but my complex sheets don't open in them at all.
     
  12. a456 macrumors 6502a

    a456

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #12
    You have just put me off Intel Macs. I need VB macros for the work that I do and with MS Office 2008 scrapping VB macros I was planning on buying the current MS Office just before the new one comes in. Currently I run Office v.X but it cannot display all the special characters I need. Looks like I'll keep going with my PowerBook and look to get a PPC mini off ebay when they get as cheap as possible.
     
  13. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #13
    Just out of curisoty do any PPC apps work?

    That is pretty annoying, can't really think of anyways to repair Rosetta, have you tried to repair permissions, worth a punt.
     
  14. P40L VX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #14
    I haven't got any other apps that are original PPC ones so cannot test.

    I am rebuilding the thing but don't really want to go through this process again a 2nd time round.

    Should I bite the bullet and do a transfer from my old Mac. I don't like the idea of this just incase it copies loads of crap...?
     
  15. Nuc macrumors 6502a

    Nuc

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    TN
    #15
    Hmm, I haven't had any problems with Office 2004 on my C2D. I use VB and it works fine. The only thing is that it's slow on it's first startup.

    Nuc
     
  16. smueboy macrumors 6502a

    smueboy

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Oz
    #16
    Office 2004 certainly works fine on intel macs - it is just slow, both on startup and in use. There is no way i would have stuck with my old PB just because of that.


    Mine all work (Office, photoshop), just a little slower than may be ideal.
     
  17. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    If I recall correctly, you need at least version 11.2 for Intel systems.
     
  18. P40L VX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    #18
    It must have been a problem with Rosseta....?

    I re-built the machine from scratch, tried again and everything was AOK.
     
  19. cblackburn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #19
    This is a common problem, update to the latest version from the Microsoft website and the errors will go away.

    As for Adobe Photoshop, make sure you are not installing to a case sensitive drive.

    Chris
     

Share This Page