MS Office on Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by silence, Mar 5, 2006.

  1. silence macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    #1
    Sorry for the basic question, but can't seem to find any info on this..

    But as the title says, is MS Office (Word, Entourage, Excel, etc.) compatible with Rosetta?

    I desperately need a new laptop, and although my main tools of trade are covered by Adobe CS - I unfortunately still need MS Office for work.

    I'm currently using an old PowerMac G4 466 Mhz, which i'm guessing is still slower than programs run w/ Rosetta!

    As long as Adobe and MS Office can run ok, I need to order a new MBP asap! :D

    Thanks in advance!

    -Issac
     
  2. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #2
    I have it on mine and it seems fine with Rosetta
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    It works very well on Rosetta. The first start up takes about 35-40 seconds be the following ones appear to be just as fast as native PowerPC.
     
  4. silence thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
  5. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #5
    It shouldn't be a problem. I have it running on an Intel iMac and although it takes a little while to start up, it runs fine once the program is open. The same goes for PS, it takes a while to open but then is usable.
     
  6. silence thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    #6
    OK sounds good.

    I just called the Apple store to enquire about purchasing. Among other things, the gentleman stated that.. "The new Mac Book Pro is even faster than the PowerMac G5"

    Is this true?? :eek:

    I've always thought the mammoth 64 bit G5 machines to be the ultimate power tower, but for a tiny laptop to be faster that's a big statement.

    They are both approx. the same price right now... I need the computer for mainly graphics and website design.. no 3d rendering or video graphics.

    Which would be the best choice?? Any feedback would be much appreciated.
     
  7. sw1tcher macrumors 65816

    sw1tcher

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #7
    The MBP can be a bit faster on a few tasks if the software is Universal, but in general the PM G5 will still kick the MBP's butt. It really comes down to what you're doing and what programs (Universal or PPC) you're using.

    I think they're just saying that to sell more Intel-based Macs. I mean, why would someone buy a new machine if it's not going to be faster than an older model? Doesn't make much sense. They want people to upgrade. It's all about sales.
     
  8. asherman13 macrumors 6502a

    asherman13

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #8
    Yeah, I find it hard to believe that a dual processor dual-core 2.5Ghz computer will be outdone by at besta dual-core 2.16Ghz laptop.
     
  9. silence thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
  10. plinkoman macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    yea, the sales rep was just trying to get you to buy a computer; for the most part, the powermacs will still best the macbook pros. that said, the more software becomes universal, the faster the mbp gets. i would definately recommend the macbook pro [​IMG]
     
  11. bodeh6 macrumors 6502a

    bodeh6

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    #11
    I played with the MacBook Pro and Office was equal or slighly better then on my iBook.
     
  12. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #12
    Well, the 2.16 GHz Core Duo is almost certainly faster than the single-processor 1.6 GHz G5... I mean, the salesman didn't say which Power Mac G5 did he? :D

    Realistically, it appears that the Core Duo is about even with an equal GHz G5 (just look at Apple's system requirements for various things. HD movie trailers list a 2.0 GHz dual G5 or 2.0 GHz Core Duo for 1080p trailers, the iChatAV specs say equivalent speed G5/CD for various video resolutions...)

    As for MS Office on the MBP? Well, it comes preloaded with the 30-day trial version of Office 2004, so it would be safe to assume that it works on it. Plus, Steve Jobs himself demoed Office in both the initial Intel-Mac demo and the iMac/MacBook intro. Yes, Office works fine. (Both the demo, and when I removed that, v.X work just fine. I didn't bother upgrading to 2004, and now that I'm waiting for a universal version, I'm DEFINITELY not paying to upgrade to something non-native.)
     
  13. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #13
    From what I understand, Office runs fine under Rosetta emulation, that is standard does. Virtual PC, (part of Office Pro), does not run under Rosetta.

    I would love to tell you this for definate, but I am still waiting on my MBP. If it arrives soon, I would be happy to test this out and screen grab then post any results.
     
  14. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #14
    I can confirm correct on both points. Office v.X runs fine, Virtual PC 7 (the one from Office Pro 2004,) does *NOT* run at all. To be precise, it first runs the installer to add the OS bits (which, is what I am assuming won't work, since they are PPC only, and the OS doesn't run kernel extensions that are PPC only,) but the next (and any subsequent) time I run it, it just "unexpectedly quits".
     
  15. Aramis macrumors member

    Aramis

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    East Coast
    #15

    I am currently running Office 2004 for Mac on my new MBP and imo Word (which I use daily) runs a little slow. I usely work with docs that are around 10-20 pages long with embedded photos (design mock-ups) and it takes a while for the page to refresh when I scroll (maybe 8+ seconds or so - beachball spinning). The same docs on my T42 refresh in about 2 seconds or so. Not a huge deal obviously, but after going through a long doc it gets a little annoying. This is my first Mac, so this may be normal, but I thought id share. My setup info is below.
     

Share This Page