MS Office slow on new Intel Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dizzled, Dec 14, 2006.

  1. dizzled macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #1
    So I got a new macbook, core 2, and MS office is ridiculously slow. Is this because it is the 'test drive' or because it is not a universal binary. If it is the latter I won't buy it and I will get iwork, if it is just an issue of my version not being registered then I may buy it.

    I have to say that I do not like pages as much as word. Keynote seems to be pretty good. But i need excel or an excel like program and spreadsheet does not do it for me. Anyway, sorry to rant.
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    add ur memory to >1G, everything would be fine.
     
  3. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #3
    Are you running 10.4.8? That release implemented a massive increase in Rosetta performance.
     
  4. ChickenSwartz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #4
    I have 2gb of RAM and it runs very smoothly. I have actually had more 'slow' issues with the iWorks trial than the Office tiral.
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    A bit of both I'm afraid. It's really not all that fast on an MBP with 2GB of RAM. It's also possible that the Test Drive is a carbonized app, which would make it even slower. Supposedly there will be an Office 2007 that is UB. Until then, those of us that use it are stuck with some crawliness. Though I find it dealable.

    Instead of cashing in for iWork, I'd investigate NeoOffice or OpenOffice as an alternative until a UB version exits.
     
  6. ero87 macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #6
    you should also conside OpenOffice. I'm not a big fan, but others swear by it.
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    even openoffice/neooffice can not run smoothly on a 512MB machine.
     
  8. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #8
    Unless the OP has bought the low end C2D iMac then he or she has 1GB of RAM.
     
  9. dizzled thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #9
    I have 1 G of ram and I am running 10.4.8 I'm not springing for another gig of ram right now since there is no reason I should NEED 2 gigs of RAM. I'll look into open office and neooffice. Thanks everyone
     
  10. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    I must have missed where the original poster states that the MB only has 512MB of RAM? :confused:
     
  11. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #11
    no, u did not, OP didn't states the size of his memory in the first post.
     
  12. crazycat macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #12
    Office will run slower on intel macs until Microsoft releases an intel version. If you use a lot of office you will notice it being slower but it should not be slow to the extent that you find it annoying.

    Go to your application folder, Utilities and open Activity Monitor. Check for your CPU and system memory and see how much you use of it. Apps like Parallels, office, firefox and games do take a lot of memory, its always nice to know how much you use.
     
  13. Tork macrumors regular

    Tork

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    #13
    The only time Office's slowness really annoys is when opening one of the programs. Typing in word and using excel -- hardly any difference than on a ppc.
     

Share This Page