MS Word and pasting pictures

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by yg17, Sep 7, 2005.

  1. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #1
    I'm in a Java programming class and the rather tedious way my professor has us turn in homework is to paste our code into a word document and then take a screenshot of the program running in terminal and paste that into a word document. Then, we e-mail the doc file to him. The problem I have, is I use a Mac, he uses Windows. Whenever I take a screenshot on OSX and paste it into Word, it shows up fine for me. I assumed it would work fine for him on Windows until I lost points on the easiest homework assignment I've had since 2nd grade. When the word file is viewed on Windows, instead of the picture, it tells me that a TIFF decompressor is needed, which is why I lost points on the assignment :mad: I obviously want to stop this from happening again. So, how can I force Word to use something other than TIFF (like GIF or JPEG) for saving images, so that Winblows can read it? Thanks.
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Look, you have to do what you have to do. Microsoft claims that TIFF is a proprietary Apple format. You need QuickTime for Windows installed for the format to display properly within a Word:win document.

    The workaround is simple. Convert your TIFF to JPEG or BMP. Import your converted image into Word. Your professor will be none the wiser and you will get an "A."
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3

    Although, it still rarely works, even if they do have Quicktime, so as MisterMe says, convert it to another format. :)
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    This should work. However, handling of embedded pictures/objects in Word just plain sucks, even on the same platform and version of Office. It only gets worse if you mix and match platforms and versions. I've seen word completely "skip" a picture due to a pinter driver change on the same machine. (The pictures got lost between pages.)

    Any chance you could avoid the problem altogether and submit your homework in a less risky format like PDF or HTML?

    B
     
  5. yg17 thread starter macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5

    I talked to the professor, he said PDF is fine. Hopefully those will work too
     
  6. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    Seriously -- you could just take the MS word document and print to PDF. That would be the easiest for you and most likely to work for him.
     

Share This Page