MS Word - help please

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by giovanni, Nov 18, 2002.

  1. giovanni macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    manhattan
    #1
    Hi,
    I need to understand whether based on your experience MS Word is a total disaster under Jaguar. I am still hoping something is wrong with my setup, as I need Word badly.

    In any case what happens to me is that it quits suddenly very often and it makes it nearly impossible to get any serious work done.
    I mean, do we have to switch to

    thx for any suggestion,
    giovanni
     
  2. DeKa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #2
    Have you got the v Office X.1.2 update installed? Get it from http://www.microsoft.com/mac

    If you have, try trashing your Office preferences. You might lose a few customisations you'd made but I had a similar problem a month or so ago and trashing the preferences fixed it.

    Make sure Word, Excel, Entourage and Powerpoint are all closed...

    You'll find a Microsoft directory in /Home/Library/Preferences - trash the Microsoft directory.
    Open Word again, and all should be fixed :D

    Derek.
     
  3. Falleron macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    To be honest, it works fine for me. I dont remember the last time it crashed, its been a while. I dont have any performance problems.
     
  4. giovanni thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    manhattan
    #4
    OK - so far I consider these good news. Really what I was hoping to hear. How do I ceck which version I am running ? I can't remember whether this info is in the "about.." menu, like it usually is. Thx again,
    giovanni
     
  5. DeKa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #5
    The Word..About doesn't actually seem to tell you exactly what version you're running.

    If you just installed from the CD and that's it, you're running Office X with no updates.

    Download and install it anyway... you'll probably find your problems are fixed. The X.1.2 update is supposed to improve stability with Jaguar.

    Derek.
     
  6. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #6
    Actually, newer CDs have the updated versions...Office X.1 i'm sure about, not sure about the second update tho'...
     
  7. scem0 macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #7
    Word works great on both my macs (333MHz g3 and a 450Mhz g4)
    The only problem is its super-annoyingness when it edits anything
    and everything that I type. Can't stand that sometimes.
     
  8. DeKa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #8
    OK... well I bought my OfficeX from the AppleStore online and about a month or 6 weeks ago and it's Office X with no updates. I guess us Australians get old stock hey?

    Derek.
     
  9. giovanni thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    manhattan
    #9
    on auto editing

    Scem0, you must be able to turn that off ! I know I can do it in the windoz version, haven't done so yet in the mac one, but I am positive you can do that, probably under preferences/spelling and grammar.
     
  10. Falleron macrumors 68000

    Falleron

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Just go to the Word Meun + then preferences. Then go to edit + de-select what you want.

    From that preferences panel you can stop everything from spell check to autocomplete words etc.
     
  11. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #11
    giovanni, if you upgraded to jag, uninstall all of office and then re-install. do not run anything. go to MS website and get the latest update and install it. Then all should be fine. If that dont work then it looks like an OS re-install im afraid.
     

Share This Page