MSN For Mac OS X With Video!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by haiggy, Jan 8, 2005.

1. haiggy macrumors 65816

Hey guys, not sure if anyone has seen this before -- and if I am the first I will be surprised.

A while ago I was trying to find a program that used webcam with MSN. I went to macupdate.com I believe and just found an MSN alternative. So, I downloaded it and tried it. I saw a webcam feature, but it said it was currently being worked on.

So, I went to the website of this program called "Mercury MSN" (formerly dMSN?) located at www.mercury.to and the guys says he got webcam to work on Linux and he is now working on a Mac OS X version. So, as soon as it is released... there is all of your solutions for your MSN Webcam conversations.

For me, the program runs generally pretty slow, but I'm not sure why. I believe it is a java based program (but I have very little knowledge of programming) Maybe it will be tweaked, or maybe it's just my computer. All I know is that if I can see my friends on MSN, GREAT! It is still faster than VPC with webcam.

Just thought I'd share that with you guys. Seems like a never ending question from switchers, and just mac user in general :)

2. Daveway macrumors 68040

Daveway

great news, I always have msn friends that want video and I can't deliver.

3. haiggy thread starter macrumors 65816

Yes, me too. That is why I could care less of how fast the program runs. :)
    I hate having to use iChat and talk on MSN, although the full screen feature is nice -- and don't get me wrong, I love iChat and it's video. But... of all the people I want to use webcam with, one has an AIM account (atleast it's my girlfriend :D). People are too lazy to make an AIM account and download it just so they can see me. :rolleyes:

4. mattroberts macrumors regular

mattroberts

Sweet! thanks for the link!

I've been looking for something like this and hadn't run into it yet.

cheers

5. Darwin macrumors 65816

Darwin

Sounds good