MSN help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by R.Youden, Feb 25, 2007.

  1. R.Youden macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #1
    I have an issue with my girlfriend's MSN on her eMac and iBook.

    With her iBook everything works fine. She can chat away to her hearts content. However, on her eMac is where the problems start. She can see what I, or anyone else, sends her; but no-one can see what she types. I have checked all the Messenger settings, along with the Network and Sharing prefs within System Prefs but still no joy.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  3. R.Youden thread starter macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #3
    I have tried to persuade her but no joy, she must use MSN
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    whats the version of OSX on emac?
     
  5. R.Youden thread starter macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #5
    10.4.8 on both
     
  6. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Try it to see if it works though...
     
  7. R.Youden thread starter macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #7
    It wont let her log in, doesn't recognise the password.
     
  8. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #8
    try a clean uninstall-reinstall (clean means "delete all the residue files through spotlight")
     
  9. R.Youden thread starter macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #9
    I have carried out an uninstall using App-Delete so I guess that will have done the job, still no luck!
     
  10. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    huh, interesting.

    are these two macs in same network environment? and connect to network same way? (like, wirelss, vs, cable)
     
  11. R.Youden thread starter macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #11
    Yup, they are sat next to each other.
     
  12. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #12
    both using cable to connect to network? coz i know some routers some times behave funny.
     
  13. R.Youden thread starter macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #13
    Both connect to an airport express base station which is connected to the internet via a cable router
     
  14. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #14
    ok, another question, did MSN work ok before on this eMac? or it has never been ok?
     
  15. R.Youden thread starter macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #15
    As far as i know it has worked before
     
  16. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #16
    ok, then maybe use onyx to clean all the caches (system cache, especially), I think there is some problem in the system. since newly installed msn doesn't work,
     
  17. R.Youden thread starter macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #17
    Tried using Onyx, no luck. The strange thing is that in adium (my chat client) I can see my girlfriend's status change to "typing message". Something must not be working when she hits the send button. Very strange. I would go back a version but Microsoft wont let me! Thanks!

    Anyway thanks for all your help. It is nearly 1am and I need sleep. Any more suggestions would be great and I will look at them in a few hours when I drap my lazy ass out of bed.
     
  18. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #18
    this happens to my friend's miranda@ windows too, i can see him typing, but never a msg shows up. but a re-install solved the problem.
     
  19. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #19
    I've encountered the same problem. With Adium, Adium Beta, and the new MSN. I haven't found a good way to clean it up, but Adium says they are working on the problem.

    Could it be something with the MSN network people access?

    Steve
     

Share This Page