msn messenger problem (offical client)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dragon2611, Aug 20, 2006.

  1. dragon2611 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    #1
    if i use adium or my pc (WLM) i can chat on msn just fine.



    however with the offical mac client i sign in, can see the contact list then a few moments later i get booted off with the following message "the system is unavailable now so you have been signed out of Microsoft messenger"

    if the system is unavailable how come i am able to stay connected on adium and my pc client :eek: :confused:


    edit:

    my system is a 1.83ghz macbook 1gb ram. osx 10.4.7
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    You just reminded me of the main reason I dumped the official client and went to Adium. In other words, that's normal.
     
  3. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #3
    I use Mercury Messenger because I was tired of all the problems, even when MSN Messenger stayed connected.
     
  4. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    I had the same problem intermitantly when I first got my Mac mini. I'd been using a G3 box before that and MSN ran much smoother on that..lol

    I use aMSN, its great, plus its universal. The official client is full of bugs and is slow as a rake.
     
  5. dragon2611 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    #5

    Im trying mecrury at the moment, I had amsn but if i was chatting to serveral people it would stop responding it was still receiving messages and such but the UI locked up i couldn't click anywhere or type anything.


    I use adium most of the time but sometimes if i drop connection to msn it won't sign back on till i disable and renable the account (adium 1.0b8) just upgraded to 1.0b9 i think not sure if its fixed or not.
     
  6. Star Destroyer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #6
    umm My aMSN was not universal, its PowerPC, unless they updated it in the last month.. Thats why i switched to Adium, because Adium is Universal..

    EDIT: wow, i had an OLD version, it is Universal! hrmm, i should look into that perhaps. But i still enjoi Adiums interface, its much nicer
     

Share This Page