MSN, Yahoo, and ICQ contacts in iChat!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iindigo, Mar 31, 2005.

  1. iindigo macrumors 6502a

    iindigo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    Well, at least in Tiger anyway...

    I found this at another forum, thought you guys might like to hear about it :)

    Apparantly, Apple has put in support for other networks in a roundabout way - Jabber, the chat network newly supported by Tiger's iChat (iChat v3) supports contacts from other chat networks via so-called "gateways". iChat doesn't directly support gateways, but if you create the gateways with another Jabber client, then add your Jabber account to iChat, iChat will automatically imports all the MSN/ICQ/Yahoo/AIM contacts from the gateways you added. Sounds confusing, but it's quite simple. Here's how:



    1. Download a standalone Jabber client. I used Psi, but others should work too. I will write the rest of the tutorial assuming you are using Psi.

    2. Open Psi, and register for an account. Enter your designated name/pass. You'll need to enter a server; I used 2entwine.net, but most other Jabber servers should work. Leave the port alone. Once registered, click the Status menu and ensure that your are online.

    3. Probe for services. In Psi, choose General --> Service Discovery. A dialog will come up showing you what services the server is capable of. Click browse, then right-click the service you want to use, then select. Enter your registration info for that service.

    4. Quit Psi

    And that's it! Open iChat, add your Jabber account with the same settings as Psi, open the Japper buddy list, and your non-AIM contacts will magically appear in iChat! :cool:

    Keep in mind this is no full substitute for Adium or Proteus - it doesn't support file transfers or audio/video, but it still pretty darned cool.

    Making sure everybody sees this: This only works in Tiger, NOT Panther or older. I don't want people telling me "Yous suck!! This no worky. I use Panther with iChat AV" type posts :p
     
  2. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
  3. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  4. BWhaler macrumors 68020

    BWhaler

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    #4
    Awesome. Truly awesome.

    Thanks so much for sharing.

    I can't wait for Tiger.
     
  5. vouder17 macrumors 6502a

    vouder17

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Location:
    Home
    #5
    But then can you chat under your MSN user name or do u chat under your Jabber user name?
     
  6. iindigo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iindigo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    People IM you under your normal MSN name, if that's what you mean.
     
  7. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #7
    Do you still have to sign up for an MSN or Yahoo account?
     
  8. iindigo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iindigo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    Yep.
     
  9. gopher macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #9
    Will iChat Tiger offer chatroom support in MSN and Yahoo for group chat?
    Will iChat Tiger offer crossplatform videochat and audiochat for MSN and Yahoo?
    Will iChat Tiger offer offline messanging options in all of the servers it supports?
    Offline messanging means if you aren't connected, and someone sends you an instant message, you get a notice when you connect that you were sent a message and the contents of those messages.

    All three of those features are not fully supported in the official clients from those servers. Offline messanging is not available on AIM for the Mac either.
     
  10. rock6079 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #10
    this is awesome.. and your quick guide really helped.. eventually i got it to work.. unfortunately.. all my contacts (over 200) now have to be authorized and have to reauthorize me on msn.. did i do something wrong or is this how it works ? they dont show up on ichat until i autoorize them..

    is there any way around this ?

    thanks
     
  11. iindigo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iindigo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    Actually, I don't think there is :( sorry...
     
  12. Qianlong macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Location:
    .BE
    #12
    cool, I'm seeing my msn buddies in iChat :D

    Hopefully someone will add video support, that would be v v cool
     
  13. Rubin421 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    Except from the iChat/AIM 5.5 thing and from Mercury, are there any Mac MSN clients which allow to do at least an audioconference with a PC?
     
  14. thumper macrumors 6502

    thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Under the Sea
    #14
    one thing i like about MSN is that when i get an email that little pop up comes up to tell me,

    will ichat tell me when i get a new email for hotmail.

    all i use is MSN cuz everyone i know uses MSN and hotmail.
    i love the way ichat works and the way it looks, but i never use my ,mac account cuz i hate having so many emails. ive had my hotmail account for about 7 years. :eek:
     
  15. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #15
    I don't have tiger, osx, or a Yahoo, or MSN or Jabber account but I used to and I can answer all the questions:

    You connect to MSN.
    You add contacts.
    You connect to Jabber.
    You get your MSN contacts in Jabber.
    You add Jabber to your iChat AV 3.
    You get your MSN contacts in iChat AV 3.

    Thats it. Only IMing. Nothing else. No email notifications, voice/video chat, nothing. Its only IMing... and its Limited IMing as well.
     
  16. martijnvandijk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #16
    strange


    Strange, I have to open Psi, get online and get my MSN service online every time to get iChat to work like you describe above. Once I quit Psi, I won't be able to get my MSN-contacts online... how come?
    thanks, martijn
     
  17. cheekyspanky macrumors 6502a

    cheekyspanky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Location:
    South Bucks, UK
    #17
    I've tried setting this up but I don't seem to be able to connect to Jabber still - can anyone recommend a different server to use?
     
  18. oliverw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #18
    Can send but can't recieve??

    I have set up PSI and I can send from iChat to Yahoo! IM, but I can't reply... The speech bubble appears in iChat when the Yahoo! person is typing, but no IM message is sent through when they hit send.

    Any ideas??
     
  19. Lollypop macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #19
    oliverw, what server are you useing, cus Im having the very same problem! The people on my other end are using windows Yahoo client. maybe we can solve this problem ourselves.
     
  20. meathane macrumors member

    meathane

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #20
    that guide is way too vague. anyone give a total newbie version with pics and stuff?
     
  21. Lollypop macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #21
    Ok, here goed the pic Guide!

    Please note that this will ONLY work for the TIGER version of iChat.

    1.) Go get Psi first. PSI

    2.)Get a Jabber acount that supports you IM network.

    "Jabber is best known as "the Linux of instant messaging" -- an open, secure, ad-free alternative to consumer IM services like AIM, ICQ, MSN, and Yahoo." (What is Jabber?)

    Even though Jabber is its own alternative to the other mentioned consumer Im services, most Jabber servers allow their clients to connect to AIM, ICQ, MSN and Yahoo through the use of Gateways or "transports", its these transports that we are interested in.

    To get a Jabber account that supports transports go to jabber.org/network to find a open one.

    Of great importance is the supported networks at the top... if the open server does not support a transport to your desired IM network then you will not be able to chat on that network!

    [​IMG]

    Once you have created a account at one of the open servers you can proceed to start Psi.

    3.)Starting Psi

    Dismiss the initial help message and proceed to the account menu.

    [​IMG]


    Psi seems to create a default empty account already. Slect the account and then click modify.

    [​IMG]

    Enter your Jabber ID (registered.username @ choice.of.server).
    Enter your password.

    [​IMG]

    Before we can even try adding your other IM networks you first have to change your satus of Psi to online.

    [​IMG]

    Once you are fully connected to your Jabber server its time to add your Transports
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      70 KB
      Views:
      24,743
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      39 KB
      Views:
      43,090
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      31.4 KB
      Views:
      24,498
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      47.4 KB
      Views:
      24,385
    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      40 KB
      Views:
      42,489
  22. snowdog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Location:
    Visby, Sweden
    #22
    I get Yahoo! email notifications!
    Might be that the Jabber-server has to support that function.
    I user jabber.dk
     
  23. Lollypop macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #23
    4.)Adding Transports

    To add transports please note that you have to be connected to your chosen Jabber server!

    [​IMG]

    In the general menu click service discovery.

    [​IMG]

    Click "browse" to have Psi discover any transports that your Jabber server offers.
    Scroll down and double click the Transport you desire. (Either MSN, Yahoo ect.)

    Once you have entered your IM details click the register button.

    [​IMG]

    You will have to authorize the transport before Jabber will add connect to your IM network with your username.

    [​IMG]

    If all went weel with the transport your buddies should start to be added.

    We are done with Psi and can go to iChat.

    5.) Setting up Jabber in iChat

    In iChat preferences you will want to add your Jabber server.

    In the accounts tab click the "+" to add a new account.

    Choose jabber as the account type and fill in the details. iChat will add the server once you have added your Jabber ID (registered.name@choice.of.server).

    Click the add button.
    Your Jabber acount should now be listed in the accounts list.

    [​IMG]

    Close the preferences window.

    If all goes well iChat will now want to add every single one of your buddies, you will have to authorize/Accept them all!

    According to me thats all thats needed.. hope this helps you meathane.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      20.5 KB
      Views:
      42,087
    • 6.jpg
      6.jpg
      File size:
      19.2 KB
      Views:
      41,993
    • 8.jpg
      8.jpg
      File size:
      14.6 KB
      Views:
      41,881
    • 9.jpg
      9.jpg
      File size:
      16.2 KB
      Views:
      23,618
    • 11.jpg
      11.jpg
      File size:
      12.6 KB
      Views:
      23,535
  24. meathane macrumors member

    meathane

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #24
    doesn't work. too much geekery i think ill just use msn
     
  25. cheekyspanky macrumors 6502a

    cheekyspanky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Location:
    South Bucks, UK
    #25
    Can someone suggest some Jabber servers to use as the one I tried to use doesn't seem to cooperate!
     

Share This Page