Multiple Desktops on OS X

Discussion in 'OS X' started by timswim78, Mar 1, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #1
    I have been a user of Linux and Windows for years, and I recently bought my first Mac for home use (I also use one at work for some projects). One feature that I really enjoy about Windows XP and some Linux window managers (such as Gnome and KDE) is the ability to have multiple desktops running at once. Is such a feature built into OS X 10.4 or slated for version 10.5? I found one third-party application called, “Desktop Manager”, but it is only in the Alpha stages of development and has not been updated 9 months. Are there any other third-party applications that allow for multiple desktops on OS X? To me, it just seems like the feature would fit in very well with Apple’s push to have the best user interface.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    ScottB

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    Britain
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #3
    Thanks for the link. However, this project also looks dead. I'm surprised that there isn't more interest for this in the OS X community.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Despite the fact that it is "in development", I have been using desktop manager for the past year - it is fantastic, and at least for my needs has the feel of a finished product. Is there a specific reason that it does not suit your needs?

    There was some talk about an intel version on these threads as well that you might want to explore if you have an intel mac.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #5
    Thanks for the input. I'll give it a try tonight.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    #6
    there is http://www.yousoftware.com/desktops/ ...The initial price is 34 dollars, but if you just give them your email you will recieve a discount in a couple of weeks that will bring the price down to 9.

    i didn't know windows had a desktop manager. Could you possibly share the link?
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #8
    I've been working with it, and it does everything that I need it to do. Where exactly do I sign up to get the discount. There was one signup link on their Web site, but it kept crashing for me, and I'm not sure if it was the correct link anyway.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    #9
    OH im sorry, I honestly don't remember. I think sometime either durring the installation or downloading you are asked for an email address. Look for the little checkbox that askes if you would like to be sent any "special deals."

    You wont get it immediatly, but give it a good 3 weeks and you will probably recieve it.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #10
    For a lot of us, Exposé killed the need for virtual desktops.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    timswim78

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #11
    Expose is OK when I am working on one project. When I working on multiple projects, that require several windows each, I prefer organize things with multiple desktops.
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    prostuff1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Don't step into the kawoosh...
    #12
    There is CodeTek Virtual Desktop Pro and there is also the Lite version. I think you can use one of them free but it only allows you to have like 2 desktops or something.

    I'll let you read about the differences cause i am to lazy to type right now
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    VanNess

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #13
    Why not use fast user switching? You can set up each "user" with a name for each desktop or project and set them up however you want.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #14
    I could be mistaken, but I believe that FUS is more resource-intensive than many virtual desktops. Also, you can move windows from one user's session to another, whereas you can move windows from one virtual desktop to another with relative ease.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #15
    i just found this last night!

    virtue

    it seems that virtue development has been taken on by someone new, the build i (0.51r82) have was released about 10 days ago. its great! and highly configurable.

    check it out.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Island Dog

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    St. Cloud, FL.
    #16
    This is the link, but it's crashing for me also.

    http://www.yousoftware.com/contact/optin.php
     

Share This Page