Multiple entries in "Open With" CM

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Guntis, Dec 18, 2005.

  1. Guntis macrumors member

    Guntis

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    #1
    Today I found that I have multiple entries of the same programs in Finder's Open With contextual menu. For example:

    Open With >
    CocoTumbX
    CocoTumbX
    CocoTumbX
    CocoTumbX
    ColorSync Utility
    ColorSync Utility
    ColorSync Utility
    ColorSync Utility
    Firefox
    Firefox
    Preview
    Preview
    Preview
    Preview
    QPict
    QPict
    QPict
    QPict
    QPict
    QPict
    RealPlayer
    RealPlayer
    RealPlayer
    RealPlayer
    RealPlayer
    RealPlayer
    RealPlayer
    RealPlayer

    etc.
    How to get rid of these multiple items while preserving each program to be listed once? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
  3. croshtique macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #3
    I have a similar problem although not as extreme as yours! I only get doubles of QuickTime Player, TextEdit and Safari (and I only have one copy of those applications on my Mac...)
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Try executing the following terminal command:

    /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/\
    Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Support/lsregister \
    -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user

    It should all be one long line. You can copy and paste it into Terminal.

    Source: http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20031215144430486
     
  5. croshtique macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
  6. Guntis thread starter macrumors member

    Guntis

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    #6
    Thanks! Problem solved. Mac user community is really wonderful! :)
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
  8. crazycat macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #8
    MR member "yellow" directed me to this thread Thanks :) and i would like to know why this happens in the first place? is there anyway to make it not happen again in the future?
     
  9. Guntis thread starter macrumors member

    Guntis

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    #9
    I think it happens every time I clone my "Macintosh HD" hard drive to the external LaCie hard disk. After that all applications start to double. Clone again and they will triple... I just reported this issue to Apple. Can we all do that? Maybe they will hear our plea for help...

    Actually this is the script which I use now:

    /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -r -f -domain local -domain system -domain user "/Applications"

    And I sent message to the SuperDuper! developer - here's what he replied:

     

Share This Page